Skip to content

My Slimming World journey so far

February 26, 2014

As any regular readers will know, I’m permanently on a quest to find the right diet for me. I’ve tried all sorts and so far, I’m still fat. Ace. When Finn was 8 weeks old my Mum decided to join Slimming World & asked if I wanted to go with her. Because it was spur of the moment decision I didn’t have time to over complicate things and just popped along to see more about it. Instant love! The plan seemed easy to follow, workable and proven. Why not, I gave it a shot.

After I had Sam it took me 11 months and an extreme meal replacement diet to get out of my maternity clothes. During that pregnancy I had eaten like a pig and piled on a good few stone. With Finn though I was more careful. In the end I put on about 1.5 stone and that came off within the first 3 weeks. I lost another half a stone or so (go breast feeding!) in the month after that. I felt much better but I was still 6 stone overweight! I joined Slimming World. Things have really fallen into place over the last few months. Want to see how well?

IMG_9276

Boom! (not sure where my 1 stone award has got to…)

As of today I’m 3lbs away from getting my 2 stone award. Last week I got my Club 10 after losing 10% of my body weight! That was a big moment. I still have a long, long way to go (I want to lose a total of 6 stone) but I finally feel it’s achievable. Motivating me at the moment are a huge number of Instagrammers and a surprisingly high number of Slimming World bloggers. I can’t believe how many there are! To keep me motivated I’ll be trying to update my journey here every week. I’ll also be posting one of my favourite recipes of the week. Hopefully I can keep on track and finally lose all this weight that has been dragging me down for so many years!

I’m gutted that I’ll be leaving my usual weigh in group this week. I normally attend on a Thursday morning with my Mum but with returning to work next week I can’t. Devastated. I’ll be heading to a new class next Thursday in the evening, hopefully with a friend who I’ll not name yet in case she doesn’t want people to know. I always find attending groups with friends helps – there’s that bit more motivation to do well.

Any tips on how to stay on the straight & narrow? Have you done SW before? Any advice would be greatly received!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2014 3:40 pm

    Hee hee – you can name and shame me! (Back link to mrshannahs.co.uk of you please haha!)

  2. March 10, 2014 5:04 pm

    I think you’re doing fantastically and the weight really is shifting so well, you’re clearly lighter than when I first met you, although little Finn was a teeny tiny baby then!
    Going with a friend is definitely THE way to do it – I lost more weight when I was dieting with a friend than I ever have alone :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,356 other followers

