Skip to content

My better half

October 6, 2009

CraigIt’s Craig and I’s 2 year wedding anniversary today and it doesn’t seem like 5 minutes ago I was walking down that aisle. In honour of the day I’ll tell you a little bit about my lovely husband.  

Craig is 6ft 2, dark hair, lovely green eyes and nice muscly arms (my weakness). We met at work in July 2003. I worked in the offices of a horrible catalogue company and he worked in the warehouse lugging the goods about. He was known as ‘That fit bloke from the warehouse’ and he liked ME! Not the big boobed blonde who everyone normally went for but little  ol’ ginger me! I didn’t think there was any point giving him my number as I was 6 weeks away from moving to China but in true school playground style my manager gave the cleaner my number who in turn passed it on to Craig. He called me that night. We spoke for 3 hours. The next night, 2. That weekend we went on out 1st date (clubbing for my sister’s 19 birthday with some friends), we had a ball. And that was it – we’ve been together ever since. Well kind of, because I did still move to China for 7 months. We took it in our stride. There was no way I was cancelling this opportunity for a guy I’d been with only a few weeks (even if he was great) and he’d just come out of an 11 year relationship. We stayed in touch through and that break turned out to be the best things that could have happened to us. We fell in love through emails, phone calls and texts.

We were both worried about what would happen when I came home – would we recognise each other? Would we still fancy each other? Would we get on? Would we still be in love? Well, yes to all those questions. It was brilliant and within 6 months I’d forced  convinced Craig to let me move in with him. A couple of years after that I told him we were getting married. As we were remortgaging around the same time it was a great opportunity to get the expensive ring I had chose. Which, bless him, he did. We were married almost 2 years after we first got engaged. Craig is still slightly shell shocked.

8 days after our wedding, on honeymoon in Egypt, Sam was conceived. We had decided that we would try for a baby as soon as we got married, but did not expect to fall pregnant straight away. We both wanted children but I think Craig secretly wanted it more. He’s 8 years older than me & was starting to feel a bit ‘now or never’ about the children situation. When I was pregnant we used to sit together and read a pregnancy book which told us what was happening each week. When I started bleeding at 6 weeks I rang him hysterical at work not knowing what to do. He came straight home, calmed me down, helped me to call NHS Direct and then put me back to bed and waited with me until I slept. He sat for hours with his hand on my ever expanding tummy waiting for Titch to give him a kick. He and my Dad spent days decorating the house ready for Titch’s arrival. Craig was possibly more scared than even me about the birth. He was the perfect father-to-be bringing me jelly and McDonalds when I craved it (not at the same time thank goodness) and ignoring me when I had one of my (many) pregnant woman wobblers.

He’s turned out to be the best father & husband I could have imagined. After Sam’s birth he did everything for us both and never complained how tired he was. Even now Craig looks after Sam much more than I do – 2 full days and 3 afternoons a week and still manages to work full time nights too. I’d have collapsed from exhaustion a long time ago but he seems to be ok surviving on 4 hours sleep a night/day. I tend to get up with Sam at weekends just to give him a break. He has much more patience with Sam that I do and seems to just know what he wants, rather than struggle to entertain him and get stressed like I do. I’m not a natural mother but Craig is definitely a natural father. Craig and Sam can play for hours together, laughing hysterically at silly games like Peek a boo and their own invention, Cushion Mountain.

So, on our 2 year anniversary I just want to say a huge thank you to my fantastic husband for cooking, cleaning, giving me our beautiful son, being an amazing husband and father, supporting me through uni these last few years, encouraging me with my career, being my best friend and the one person in the world who won’t judge me no matter what I tell him. Love you.

me &  craig

13 Comments leave one →
  1. the dotterel permalink
    October 6, 2009 10:23 am

    Happy anniversary! What’re you drinking?

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      October 7, 2009 8:12 am

      Vodka, and lots of it!

  2. October 6, 2009 11:25 am

    Love your blog Emma thats the reson 4 staying on facebook! Congratulations on ur 2yr anniversary.If all the family will go to Aus GO 4 IT!! my family av never looked back. the schooling there is 2nd to none. love 2 you all xxx

  3. October 6, 2009 1:22 pm

    So cute! I like your assertive approach to dating. 😉

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      October 7, 2009 8:13 am

      Lol! He needed that kick! And he admits now he’s glad I was so forceful. Not sure if I believe him mind!

  4. October 6, 2009 4:54 pm

    Awww you guys!!! Congratulations xxxxx

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      October 7, 2009 8:13 am

      Thanks! xxxx

  5. Gemstar permalink
    October 7, 2009 3:23 pm

    awww gave me a tear in my eye!

    Fab post hun and well done for knowing what you want and getting it! haha!

    xx

  6. October 9, 2009 9:57 am

    first off – mmm yummy he’s fit!

    then… Congratulations on a great post and your 2nd anniversary.

    🙂

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      October 9, 2009 10:15 am

      Why thank you! I’m pretty proud of bagging him actually. 🙂

  7. October 9, 2009 10:06 pm

    A belated Happy Anniversary. Lovely post x

  8. Shelley Atkinson permalink
    October 10, 2009 6:17 pm

    I thought I was going to cry when I read this blog Emma (thank god I didn’t got makeup on ready to go out!) I agree Craig is a wonderful person but so are you – you make an amazing couple and are fantastic parents. Love Shell (proud to be your sister in law) xxx

Trackbacks

  1. My favourite photo « Not such a Yummy Mummy's Blog

Leave a Reply

