Skip to content

Sam’s favourite things to do that wind me up

October 15, 2009

I hate, Sam loves:

Using his high chair as a climbing frame and trying to throw himself over the back

 Chewing my (unplugged) hair straighteners

Hitting me with plugs

Ramming his walker into the dog’s leg

Throwing his building blocks at the dog

Feeding the dog all his toast

Washing his hands in the dog’s water

Eating the dog’s food

Climbing the stairs at top speed unaided, and unseen by us

Pulling wipes out of the packet, chewing them for a moment then throwing them on the floor

Running away when I try to dress him/change his nappy

Weeing on the carpet after the above

Calling me Emma and not Mummy

Calling Craig ‘Creg’ and not Daddy

Throwing mobile phones/remote controls  in the dog’s water bowl

Playing with my mobile and ringing my sister in Australia (£1 per minute)

Opening the back door and trying to go outside

Pouring his juice all over the carpet/cushions/sofas/highchair/kitchen table/dog/us etc

Trying to push the TV over

Banging the keys on my laptop

Eating Sudocrem

If you try to stop Sam doing any of the above you will be subjected to at least a full five minutes of screaming ‘Noo, noooooo, no  Emmmmmmmaaaaaaa, ffff, bakka, maaaaa, geeeeen’. Roughly translated I think means, Mummy, you cow. Just because it’s naughty and probably dangerous makes it even more fun. Let me do it agaaaaaaaainnnnn….’

What I have learnt from writing this:

Never have a dog and a baby at the same time

Call each other mummy & daddy in front of Sam

I should really put all my stuff away

Don’t let Sam play with my mobile

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2009 1:33 pm

    Oh so familiar. We now call each other mummy and daddy all the time. Mobiles are always put out of reach, but it still goes on just different things. Both my boys love the dry cat food and we had to install stair gates for both my peace of mind and their safey. How I got though the crawing and walking stage with out a heart attack I will never know!!

  2. notsuchayummymummy permalink*
    October 15, 2009 3:37 pm

    There are gates everywhere in my house – 4 in total! Sam can still open the one at the bottom of the stairs, I should just be glad he can’t open the one at the top!
    I’m just waiting for the coronary. It can’t be far away now.

  3. October 15, 2009 4:01 pm

    I think it’s quite cute when the kids experiment with our first names. I hate calling ourselves mummy and daddy. Makes me feel like we’re nothing else. Surely – a passion killer.

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      October 16, 2009 8:09 am

      Oh most definitely. To be honest, we’ve not been able to call each other mummy & daddy. It creeped us out a bit too much! I would like Sam to call me mummy. L’ve waited 29 years to hear that & all I get is ‘Emma, Emma, Emma, Emma’ on repeat. I worry people will think he’s not mine!

Leave a Reply

