Skip to content

A Thrifty Christmas

November 13, 2009

thrifty1With just a few weeks to Christmas I’ve been panicking. I just didn’t know how I was going to be able to afford to buy presents for everyone. I’ve had to trim the number of people I buy for hugely, which is rather embarrassing (sorry, I can’t afford to buy you anything, please don’t buy anything for me either) but completely necessary. I was still worried though the people I did still have to buy for. I was thinking about making things for people, but I didn’t know what or how to go about it.

This week though my prayers have been answered!! Liz at Violet Posy says

‘Thrifty Christmas was an idea I had back in September after a chat with other blogging Mums on Twitter.  We were swapping ideas of cheap thrifty Christmas presents to make for family and friends.  This year money is tight for most people and we wanted to be able to make nice, simple heartfelt gifts.  After about 20 minutes we realised that it might not be a bad idea to pool all the ideas we’d had sweets, flavoured vodkas, chutneys, candles etc and Thrift Christmas was born.’

Thank god it was! I’ve got the recipe for fudge, for homemade chocolates, limoncello & flavoured oils. I can’t wait to start making lotsof lovely treats for just a few pennies.

Pop along to http://violetposy.co.uk/2009/11/08/thrifty-christmas/ for a look. It’s not just food/drink products there’s also some fabulous ideas for Christmas decorations, handbags, children’s costumes etc. I bet there’s at least 2/3 things there you’ll fall in love with & will be excited about making!

Have a wonderful, thrifty Christmas!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2009 5:54 pm

    I’m glad it’s helped lovely. It’s a hard year for a lot of us, I hope this makes it a little easier x

  2. November 13, 2009 5:54 pm

    Violet posy is fab.

    I’ve running around like a headless chicken too.

    Drives you mad dunnit?

    Love RMxx

  3. November 16, 2009 1:43 pm

    My pleasure this was one of those songs that you have to hear to believe! I sent it to my aunt in Australia too and asked her if my Cousins were like this yet!!!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 16, 2009 3:05 pm

      I can’t wait for my sister to see it! She’ll love that it’s Aussie! Hope your cousins aren’t like that!

Leave a Reply

