Skip to content

Have you seen my willpower?

November 23, 2009

…only I seemed to have mislaid it this weekend.  I have stuffed my face like a little piggy and I’m not impressed with myself.

The Cambridge diet that I have been following is simple(s). A shake for breakfast, ‘chocolate’ bar for lunch, shake mid afternoon and a ‘proper’ dinner. I say proper but I usually have a grilled chicken breast and peas. Can’t say I’d choose that in a restaurant but at least it’s food.

In the beginning I was so motivated, I stuck to the diet and the weight just fell off me. Since I came back from Australia (8lbs heavier) I’ve struggled to get back in the mindset. Last week I thought I’d had a breakthrough. All of a sudden I realised I wasting £40 a week on this diet. That’s how much it costs for all the products. A bloody fortune that if it weren’t for my parents subsidising it to the tune of £25 per week I wouldn’t be able to do it. £40 a week and I’m still stuffing my face. Muppet.

I embarked on the week full of enthusiasm and verve. I didn’t cheat one little bit (not even the regular, tiny chunk of cheese and piece of wafer thin ham I have when I get back from work). I cut out my daily cherry diet coke fix (not easy) and survived on shakes, water, chicken and peas for 4 days. I was hungry but virtuous and heading rapidly into ketosis. Until Friday. I thought ‘It’s the weekend! I need a little treat’ so popped into the Co-op near my parents and troughed a Pepperami and 2 Baby bels (light). That was it, the flood gates opened!

Since then I have consumed:

1/2 custard pie that Sam didn’t want

1/2 pack Sam’s raisins

2 bites carrot cake

3 more Light Baby bels (had to finish the pack)

3 handfuls of Walkers Sensations BBQ Spare rib flavour

1 bottle wine

2 vodka diet cherry cokes

1 1/2 sausage rolls from Greggs (hangover food)

1/2 Pudsey cupcake from Greggs that Sam didn’t want

1 bite of Pudsey gingerbread man

2 spoonfuls of lamb hot pot (potato only)

1 Viscount (chocolate biscuit, not a peer)

1 Blue Ribbon (I don’t even LIKE wafer!!)

1 chicken nugget

1/2 jacket potato with cheese & beans that Sam didn’t want.

Good. God. So much for my food replacement diet.

So, in order to try to shame myself into dieting properly I am going to announce my weight. This isn’t easy for me. I always think people are going to look at me differently when they find out I weigh more than many men. Ah well, if it helps here we go.

Start weight: after having Sam approx 17 stone (size 22)

Now: 12 stone 12 lbs (size 16-18)

Aim: 10 stone 7lbs (may yet review to 10 stone, not too sure yet). size 12-14 (I have very big hips!)

(Just for comparison when I was 16 I was around 7 stone (and quite ill); at 18 I looked pretty good around 9/10 stone; by I left uni at 22 I was 13.5 stone; when I got married I was 15 stone; when I gave birth I was the size and weight of an African elephant. )

There we go, now you know. Don’t judge me, I don’t look enormously fat, I have a very heavy skeleton and I think my liver is rather large too. I also have quite a lot of moles and my hair is long. It all contributes!

Every Monday I’m going to post how I’ve eaten that week, totally honestly and let  you know if I’ve lost weight. For the last 2 weeks I’ve lost 2lbs per week. On this diet I should be losing 4lbs per week. I’m going to give it another bloody good go this week.

Wish me luck!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2009 11:24 am

    Good luck!

    I was going to writs a ‘shame myself into it’ post this week too.Than I baked some brownies and lost my resolve. Arrrgggh!

    You can do it!

    🙂

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 23, 2009 3:22 pm

      I had the same kind of incident involving flapjacks. I feel your pain!

  2. November 23, 2009 11:25 am

    That should say write not writs and then not than.

    🙄

    Too tired to type LOL!

  3. November 23, 2009 12:27 pm

    I think you’re being too hard on yourself trying to diet at the same time as having such a busy life and I can’t understand why anyone would want to do somthing as drastic as the Cambridge diet.

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 23, 2009 3:23 pm

      I’ve tried all other diets but just don’t stick to them. This is the only one that works for me, it’s not for everyone I appreciate that. You get used to it after a couple of days and the busy life contributes to the weight loss!

  4. November 23, 2009 1:08 pm

    Good luck! When I told everyone how much I weighed back in August (http://www.amothersramblings.com/2009/08/big-secret.html) I was terrified, but now I can see that it has made me realise what it is that I am doing to myself…. although I do slip up every so often!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 23, 2009 3:24 pm

      We’re only human. What I have to keep reminding myself is to get back on the wagon again when I do fall off. Your post this morning actually inspired me to do this. You’re doing so well. We’ll keep each other going!

  5. November 23, 2009 2:55 pm

    Good luck!

    And two things:
    1) A small relapse does not mean you’ve failed – you can always start again.
    2) Maybe you should make what you eat at night a little more interesting and tasty? That way the temptation won’t be so great, and it may be more nutritious as well.

    x

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 23, 2009 3:27 pm

      Everytime I slip, I try to see it as a learning experience and not as a major problem which will then make me reach for the biscuits!
      It’s quite limited what you eat for your one meal. It’s either a small piece of chicken or certain fish with a choice of just a few veggies, and only 1 at a time! It’s meant to stop you obsessing about food so much which does work if you can do it properly for a week or so.
      It’s amazing how good chicken & peas can taste after no real food all day! Also, curry powder helps 🙂

  6. November 23, 2009 3:22 pm

    You are doing SO well my love. And a little slip is recoverable – keep going Em we are right behind you all the way!!!

    So proud of you xxx

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 23, 2009 3:28 pm

      Thanks hun! I’ll keep plodding on. At least it’s still coming off and not going on! xxx

  7. November 23, 2009 7:40 pm

    I think you’ve done brilliantly! 5 stone! I think you can afford a wagon wheel or two… my penchant is for marshmallows (i saw Scarlet O’Hara in Gone with the Wind being told to eat them before going out so she didn’t eat too much at someone’s house..and somehow think munching on them doesn’t count!).. but a really good book i read a while ago which changed my whole outlook and attitude to food (and means I haven’t dieted since) is called The Balance by Oz Garcia (the revolutionary supermetabolism plan for maximum health and weight loss), and another is Naturally Slim Without Dieting by Dr Cherie Martin. They worked for me anyway – someone who loves her food too much to deny myself! Good Luck and I’ll look forward to saeeing how well you do over the coming weeks!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 24, 2009 9:09 am

      Once I get the weight off I’ll definitely look at that book, thanks! I need a plan to keep the weight off!

  8. November 24, 2009 12:33 pm

    Good luck with it all. Im struggling too at the mo.

    I think every decade your body changes. I’ve just hit my 40’s and its changing again. Even if I eat fresh air, I put on 2 pounds! Bloody sick of it.

    I can only put it down to my body is deciding to rebel against thinness!!!

    Love RMxx

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 24, 2009 4:41 pm

      Oh it definitely does. My teens were all thin (sometimes too thin) & willowy, my 20s were fat & flabby. I’m hoping my 30s will just be healthy and stable!

  9. November 25, 2009 10:21 am

    When I started Reading the list I thought, that’s not too bad…. But then it got worse. It’s all this denial thing. It makes you want it even more. I also eat things I’m don’t normally if I’m on a binge. Maybe you just need a break from it for a while, you’ve done brilliantly so far. Try and eat normally and go back to it when you are in the right frame of mind. Good luck, I think you should be patting yourself on the back really.

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 25, 2009 12:02 pm

      Thank you! I had a break for 6 weeks before & after I went to Australia, I’m now tying to get back in ‘the zone’. I think I’m there now. It’s been a fairly good week. I surprised myself with that list, if I’d have been eating normal meals I wouldn’t have eaten half of that stuff! Onwards & upwards (downwards) as they say!

  10. November 25, 2009 3:33 pm

    Good luck!
    And very, very brave naming and shaming your weight! I’ve been tempted a couple of times to use the same method to embarrass myself into losing weight, but then chickened out (at my very biggest, was a smidge bigger than your biggest – see, still can’t actually say it!). Currently 8 months pregnant with baby no. 2 and daren’t even look at a set of scales. Already dreading the post baby diet. I shall use you as an inspiration!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 26, 2009 9:42 am

      That’s lovely, thanks! I didn’t weigh myself after about 3 months pregnant. I’d put on half a stone by then! I just chose to ignore it, enjoy the pregnancy and worry about it after I’d stopped breastfeeding. This is a great diet if you have good willpower and want a dramatic result quickly.
      I wouldn’t have published my weight a couple of months ago but I need to get this last couple of stone off quickly and figure every little helps so why not tell the world!

Leave a Reply

