Skip to content

Writing Workshop #6

November 25, 2009

This week I chose the prompt 

3. Find a picture of a shoe that best sums up your personality.
-Inspired by the lovely Gabfran and her shoe-related blog, and Jo Beaufoix’s ‘Special’ Shoes

Now I adore shoes, I wouldn’t quite say they’re my raison d’etre but very close. It all stems from my mum who has probably a good 80-100 pairs of shoes, all kept in their boxes with descriptions on the front so she can see quite easily what & where they are. In direct contract to mine which are shoved in wardrobes, under the bed, under the wardrobe, behind the sofas, in a shoe hangy-uppy thing from Ikea, thrown around the bedroom/kitchen/lounge etc. I have a lot of shoes too. Probably getting on for 50-60 pairs. No Imelda Marcos but still a fair few.

I started buying shoes when I first put on weight. I couldn’t wear the clothes I wanted so I reflected my tastes and personality through my shoes. I wear very sensible, flat, black, boring shoes for work but at weekends and when I go out I love bright colours, wedges, heels, anything that stands out a little bit. My current favourites are silver snakeskin wedge sandals with black straps from Next for night and flat green sling backs with a wooden red ladybird on the front from Office about 7 years ago.

I buy shoes I know I’m not going to wear just because I love them (I’ve stopped doing this though now due to leack of funds). I have a sparkly pair of bright pink stilettos with purple piping that I fell in love with in the Schuh sale and had to have even though I knew I wouldn’t wear them. A pair of green knee high boots that look like Peter Pan boots from New Look. And these. My beautiful red, spotty, Irregular Choice heels with a toadstool on the front (main pic). I wore these to the pub once, crippled myself and now just wear them in the house and look in the mirror at how exquisite they are. I hate my feet but feel it necessary to adorn them in beautiful creations (preferably that show off my tattoos) for my viewing pleasure. I love to wear my Dorothy shoes (bright red glitter, pointed toe) from a cheap shop in Bolton, my ‘special needs’ shoes as my sister called them, (flat white Mary Janes with pink pelicans all over them) from Office, my 70’s shoes (7 inch wedges, the front wedge alone is 2 inches! in brown suede with a bow) from Moda in Pelle. Any colour, any kind, any shop, any price. I love them all.

If money was no object I still don’t think I’d buy designer shoes. Occasionally I’ll lust after a pair of Jimmy Choos or Ginas that I see on celebs. I have fallen for the YSL Tribute pumps (thanks to Grazia for introducing me to these completely out of reach lovelies) but the shoes that get me going every time are Kurt Geigers. We have a KG shop 5 minutes from work which is just mean. I go and drool over shoes I can’t afford but that make me want to cry they’re that beautiful.

I don’t mean to wear strange coloured or designed shoes, I’m not projecting my ‘wacky’ personality, I just like bright colours and interesting shoes that few others do. My sister was moaning in Australia that she didn’t have shoes to match a new outfit my parents had just bought. I offered to GIVE her my much adored brown, studded gladiators from Next and she said no! She hates my shoes, favouring classic black sandals, Billabong flip flops (which I am admittedly converted too) and the ubiquitous crocs for work.

I’m struggling to find one pair of shoes that fits my personality. I have a number of guises for which different shoes are needed, mummy (black studded ballerinas), employee (boring black patent Mary Janes from M&S), student (my beloved cherry print Birkenstocks), wife (sensible  grey heels from M&S), friend (knee high black boots), piss head (any high wedges that are totally impractical but look fabulous!). Many Next shoes (my current favourite supplier) reflect my personality, especially these but if I had to choose 1 pair I’d go for these classic Kurt Geigers that I be thrilled to own.  They’re lovely, deceptively comfortable, slightly offbeat, stable and surprisingly cheap. Rather like me.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2009 2:54 pm

    I never knew you were a shoe fiend!!! Jeez… you’d be most unimpressed with me. I own two pairs of trainers, 1 pair of old black flats and some boots with holes in the heel. If I ever find myself with more money can we PLEASE go shoe shopping??!

    And those shoes of yours are gorgeous! Although the height of that heel makes me feel like I need to go lie down on the floor before I fall over just looking at them…

    xxxx

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 26, 2009 9:32 am

      I’m a closet shoe & handbag-aholic.I can’t deny it! I’m not too good at walking in heels, I lost the knack when I went to uni & lived in trainers for 4 years. I’ve had a fair few tumbles I can tell you! Shoe shopping would be amazing! Ooo, we’d spend the mens money and we’d have to stop for lunch & wine!!

  2. queeneileen permalink
    November 25, 2009 3:29 pm

    Those shoes are a wonder to behold. I love them.

    I need more shoesies.

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 26, 2009 9:20 am

      I need more shoesies too. I love them. More than food.

  3. November 25, 2009 3:31 pm

    I adore shoes, I couldnt use this prompt, as I would have had to out myself as a shoeaholic

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 26, 2009 9:20 am

      Nothing wrong with that! I think we all have it in us somewhere.

  4. November 25, 2009 5:18 pm

    I love love love shoes. I don’t have enough of them. I may use this post to convince my husband of my need for more.

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 26, 2009 9:21 am

      Craig is unconvinced about me buying more shoes. He has 4 pairs: brown trainers, white trainers, brown shoes & the pair he wore for our wedding. He thinks even that is excessive! Men just don’t get it.

  5. November 25, 2009 10:35 pm

    i want your shoe collection… and actually the shoe hangy-uppy thing from Ikea too!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 26, 2009 9:23 am

      The shoes hangy-uppy thing is amazing. I didn’t even touch on my collection of Birkenstocks & flip flops in my post but this Ikea thing holds my approx 20 pairs of flip flops easily (2/3 pairs per section).

  6. November 26, 2009 7:20 pm

    Please please can I have those shoes? Can I? Please? They are FABULOUS!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 27, 2009 12:18 pm

      Sorry Kim, I would if I could! Lol!

  7. November 27, 2009 2:44 pm

    Ah, shoes….never enough money and never enough shoes to buy, although old Imelda had a good running!

    Love RMxx

Leave a Reply

