Skip to content

Writing Workshop #7 – Guilty Pleasures

December 2, 2009

With the trouble I’ve been having with my essays this week I really didn’t think I’d find time to do this weeks Writing Workshop but when I saw the prompts I knew I’d just have to. So, I’ve worked late, started early, got them both done and managed to write a post too. See, some days I don’t just wile away the hours on Twitter, sometimes (not often admittedly) I get things done.

This week I’ve chosen the prompt  2.What’s your guilty pleasure? – Suggested by Leslieanne at Life with a Little Dude

 A few weeks ago we were having a normal, boring Saturday night in when poor, knackered Craig fell asleep on the sofa and I had free reign of the remote control. I flicked around and was over the moon when I found something I’ve never watched but secretly always wanted to. High School Musical. Before you ask, no I’m not a pre pubescent child masquerading as a 29 year old mum. My guilty pleasures are musicals. I love them! Of course I use the term quite loosely. Musicals or musical films to me are the atypical Phantom of the Opera, Andrew Lloyd Webber and Tim Rice fare, Disney films with a lot of singing, The Little Mermaid, Hercules, Mary Poppins and films with lots of music and a fabulous soundtrack, like The Jazz Singer, Beaches, Calamity Jane etc. Incidentally I thought High School Musical was pretty mediocre as musicals go but even I was still humming ‘Breaking free’ the next day. I haven’t watched the other 2 though; I think I’d keel over with the saccharine sweetness of it all.

Craig doesn’t quite get why I love them so much and happily spend hours singing along to The Sound of Music, Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat and Moulin Rouge. It’s because, in the most part they are happy, jolly, nothing-to-do-with-real-life-at-all, couple of hours of good, old fashioned fun (maybe not Moulin Rouge but you know what I mean!) You show me someone who isn’t cheered by the infectious music and feel good factors in Grease & I’ll show you a liar. I have to admit though I do think Grease 2 is the superior of the 2 films. Pure, innocent virgin Sandy just wasn’t a heroine I could identify with, not like Stephanie  Zinone with her tarty tendencies and face full of slap. Admittedly Johnny Nogarelli is no Danny Zuko but the amazing songs more than make up for the lack of eye candy. One big reason I miss my sister is that she’s the only person in the world with whom I can put the Grease 2 soundtrack on in the car, wind down the windows & screech ‘Cool Rider’. We ‘act’ out ‘We’re gonna bowl tonight’ and get over excited (every time) at the ‘What would they say if they knew it was Michael’ line in ‘Who’s that Guy’. One of Helen’s hen nights was a Grease 2 night & we (bridesmaids, mum, friends) performed ‘Cool Rider’ at Helen & Ant’s wedding.

I’ve been brought up with musicals. We were taken to see Joseph & his Technicolour Dreamcoat, Evita, Les Mis, and Starlight Express. Michael Ball CD’s were always on my mum’s CD player and even my Dad liked Buster – not a musical admittedly but the soundtrack was in my Dad’s car for years & I can’t watch the film without singing along to Loco in Acapulco like we used to.

Musicals bring me such happiness in a depressing world. I don’t want to be scared watching Saw, depressed watching Titanic or educated watching Michael Moore films. Real life is scary enough, depressing enough and educating enough for me not to want that in my spare time. I want to be cheered by films, have the cockles of my heart warmed and get lost in an unrealistic world where the women are model pretty, the men handsome and everyone breaks into ridiculous song and dance routines at any given moment. When one of my favourite TV shows, Buffy the Vampire Slayer did a musical episode, ‘Once more with feeling’, I felt I could die happy. I have the series on DVD anyway but I also bought that one episode on special DVD and the CD. The songs are amazing and most of them are particularly good singers. I fell in love with Anthony Head all over again.

If you asked me what I would do with one day completely on my own, I’d get a couple of bottles of wine, lots of naughty food and watch Calamity Jane (take m back to the black hills, the black hills of Dakota…), Neil Diamond’s the Jazz Singer (my favourite soundtrack of all time), Hairspray (the original with Ricki Lake, not the John Travolta abomination), The Rocky Horror Show (by now I’d have finished the wine & be ready to dance in my fishnets) and lastly Mary Poppins, a bit of feel good magic before I went to bed. Heavenly indulgence.  

So if you see a ginger woman, dancing and singing at the wheel of a battered red Peugeot 206, give me a wave and join in. All together now: ‘The (Pennine) hills are alive with the sounds of muuuuuusic….’

For any other musical enthusiasts out there have a look if your favourite made it into the top 100.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2009 9:37 pm

    Moulin Rouge is in my top 5 favourite films so I am not one to judge. And I also bought the CD of the musical buffy episode!!!!

    xx

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      December 2, 2009 11:31 pm

      Yay!! Are you a Buffy enthusiast too? I love it! I made Craig get into it too but he only really loves the 7th season.

      And Josie, I didn’t expect you to be a secret Moulin Rouge lover! I wanted Come What May as my wedding song but Craig thought I was mental so we had Paul Weller instead. Not as good but probably more appropiate! xx

  2. December 3, 2009 1:58 am

    OOOh buffy people *glee!* And musical people *yay* (and why didn’t i think of that – Buffy really is my guilty pleasure – my son is even named after one of the characters therein)

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      December 3, 2009 10:50 am

      I wanted to called Sam ‘Xander’ but wasn’t allowed. I think it’s a lovely name. Unless you mean you called him Spike? Rupert? The Master?
      My short list for girls included Willow & Anya!
      Buffy is the best programme ever, Angel didn’t even compare (no matter how in love with him I was).

  3. December 4, 2009 1:29 am

    lifeslightlyused used “glee” as an expression of happiness, but it raises the question: what do you think of Glee the TV show?

    Xander is a great name for a boy… 🙂

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      December 4, 2009 10:25 am

      I’ve never heard of Glee. Am I missing a musical show? Where is it? When is it? Why am I so behind?

      • December 5, 2009 12:16 am

        You guys don’t get Glee yet? Being into musicals, you’re sure to love it. I have no idea when it might hit your screens, but here’s a couple of sites to check out:

        the Australian site (Channel 10) – http://ten.com.au/glee.htm

        the offical US site – http://www.fox.com/glee/

        Channel 10 got us primed a few months early by previewing the pilot and as soon as they started the series it was huge. The old Journey song “Don’t Stop Believin'” was played ad nauseum.

        I recommend looking up the show on YouTube.

  4. December 4, 2009 11:27 pm

    I am so with you on the musical love! When George was tiny and wouldn’t sleep I would play The Sound of Music soundtrack on repeat all day. Poor boy. Sure his first words are going to be “Do a Deer…” I promise to put that on youtube when it happens!

  5. December 4, 2009 11:28 pm

    OK is that how you spell Do? the musical do? because that reads that my son will be telling people to *ahem* do a deer!!

  6. January 8, 2010 8:49 pm

    Lol, wirklich gut. Komme nun auch öfters.

  7. November 17, 2010 10:12 pm

    i love classic operatic arias and Phantom Of The Opera is one of the best musical ;.:

Trackbacks

  1. 5 songs I shouldn’t like but do anyway « Not such a Yummy Mummy's Blog

Leave a Reply

