Skip to content

Writing Workshop #8 – My addiction to cosmetics

December 9, 2009

My lovely (if very full) Benefit Luscious Lana make up case

I didn’t think I’d get chance again this week to join in the Writing Workshop but as last week I had a look at the topics and had too. Josie has excelled herself again. I have chosen 1. What are you addicted to?
– Inspired by Kat at Slugs on the Refrigerator and her yarnaholism.

My name is Emma and I’m a make up-aholic. I love make up. I need it. I can not leave the house without it. I want more of it. The contents of my main make up bag are currently (bear with me, this is a long list):

3x foundation (Maybelline, Boots No 7, Max Factor)

2x Boots No 7 concealer

2x bronzer (Rimmel, Boots 17)

2 x blusher (Maybelline dream mousse, Rimmel)

9 eyeliners (brown, black, teal, emerald, sparkly teal, bright blue, purple, sparkly black, sparkly green)

10x Barry M eye dust (4 shades of green, 3 shades of blue, 1 grey, 1 black, 1 brown)

8 x other eyeshadows (various makes, various colours, various palettes)

2x mascara (only ever Max Factor 2000 calorie in black)

4x lipliners (all No 7, various neutral shades & 1 red)

4 lipsticks/ lipglosses (neutral, bright red)

12 x nail varnishes (all colours, all makes, favourties include emerald green and a lovely dark grey)

6 make up brushes (did have 9 but Sam has nabbed 3)

2x eyelash curlers

2x moisturiser (Clarins, No 7)

3x No 7 eye serum (free gifts, I can’t afford it)

3x Benefit lovelies (Benetint, Moon Beam, High Beam)

2x Clarins Beauty Flash Balm (kindly donated by my sister when she emigrated) 

3x pencil sharpeners

1x Estee Lauder Face Primer Plus

1x bulldog clip (don’t know why)

3x dead batteries (better clean it out)

1 dummy (sorry Sam)

And my never can be without it must have, Boots 17 pressed powder in Nicely Natural.

My other ‘mini’ make up bags have make up I haven’t worn in ages but don’t want to get rid of. It’s probably riddled with disease but they don’t make the Bourgeois Deep Red lipstick anymore and it’s just perfect for Halloween.  

I wear full make up everyday. Foundation, concealer, blusher, bronzer, eyeliner, eyeshadow, mascara. I’m not too bothered about lipstick, I mainly just wear Vaseline Rosy Lips which tastes amazing! I’ve worn this much make up since I was 12 and have completely ruined my skin. I think wearing so much make up everyday has perpetuated the cycle and now I actually have to wear make up every day as my skin is so poor. I’d love to one of those natural looking girls with lovely skin who can get away with a slick of moisturiser in the morning but when I tried it the other day (emergency tampon dash, could not wait) the shop assistant actually recoiled. Not good. I have the routine perfected to 10-15 minutes for work wear, a good 30-40 minutes for night time. That does involve letting the mascara dry between each of the 3/4 coats so it’s not all bad. (I love my eyelashes, they’re my favourite part of my body, long & thick so I play them up quite a lot with 2 coats of mascara just for day).

Don’t think I’m vain, I’m not. I just couldn’t bear to be without make up. I feel everyone is looking at me, talking about how disgusting my eye bags are and how ruddy my skin is. The worst thing that could happen to me is someone popping round unexpectedly before I’ve piled the slap on. My mum is the same though (I blame her for a lot). An hour after having a hysterectomy she was in a full face of make up ready for the consultant. I hated having a nose job because not only did I have to take all my make up before going under the bright lights of theatre, I had one of those awful plaster casts on my face so I couldn’t put any make up on whatsoever!

Now, I know I’m not the only one who’s addicted to make up. I see girls at the make up counter of Boots, Selfridges, John Lewis et al and I can see the lust in their eyes, the slight sheen of sweat on their brows and a quickness of breath. They’ve just found that perfect blusher, the one that will make them glow, make them look the healthiest they’ve ever looked; they’ve found the perfect, not too heavy, not too sheer foundation that doesn’t just match their skin tone, it’s better! It blends in like silk and masks all imperfections.

Make up makes me happy, make me more secure in myself. A slick of red lippie and I’m confident. A bright green eyeshadow makes me feel sexy, a neutral gloss and liner at work makes me professional. I can have a million different looks with one (not so little) make up bag and with (most) products under £20. A veritable bargain! It’s a lot less expensive and dangerous than being addicted to other things so I’m quite happy to pootle along as I am, caked in cosmetics.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2009 1:23 pm

    as someone that wears a dash of powder foundation, a bit of mascara and blusher if she’s going out proper, I find the whole make up thing baffling and the contents of your make-up bag quite intimidating. I don’t even know what half of them are for – I wish I did. I wish i could put eye liner on and not look like a clown, or keep lipstick on my lips for more than 10 minutes, I just dont have the ability. So for me less is always better than looking like I’ve fallen face first into the make-up counter at Boots.

    Enjoyable read. thank you. And if you’re ever in the neighbourhood feel free to stop by and give me make-up lessons 😉

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      December 10, 2009 11:12 am

      Now I didn’t say I didn’t look like a clown! 🙂 I find that if you wear enough mascara it covers any mishaps you might have with the application of the eye liner!
      I’m not good with lippie either, it annoys me & I end up picking it off. I wear lipliner all over my lips to keep the colour on longer & so I don’t have that awful sticky feeling.

      I am happy to impart knowledge any time 🙂

  2. December 9, 2009 2:07 pm

    I love your post. Your final paragraph as well about how lippie makes you feel confident and eyeshadow sexy couldnt be more true!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      December 10, 2009 11:14 am

      Thanks Hayley! I love that in just an hour, with a few different colours I can completely change the way I feel about myself and often, the way I act! Helpful when I can’t afford the clothes to achieve the same!

  3. December 9, 2009 5:15 pm

    See, I need a little tutorial from you I reckon. My only bit of make-up is a chapstick, which I buy in November and toss out again in March. (Seriously.)

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      December 10, 2009 11:04 am

      If you can get away without make up then do! It costs me a bloody fortune! I’ll be happy to provide tutorials. My best tip for non amek up wearers- tinted moisturiser. Warms up the complexion, keeps you nicely hydrated. Wow, I could have my own show!! *cough*

  4. December 9, 2009 10:11 pm

    I’ve Mwa. I’ve just had to throw out all my make-up as it is about 10 years old and all manky. I wear chapstick on a good day 🙂

    I look like an old tart when I try and wear make-up. And you, pretty lady, I bet you look far lovelier sans slap than you give yourself credit for.

    Now beauty products? Lotions and potions? THAT’s I could get really addicted to buying 🙂 xx

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      December 10, 2009 11:07 am

      I’ve seen you in photos all made up and you look lovely, not tart like at all!

      And sans slap – scary. broken veins, ruddy skin (farmer like), purple eye bags. I have the skin of a 50 year old. xx

  5. December 10, 2009 1:54 am

    Wow – I want your nail varnishes, eyelash curlers, eyeliners and mascara 🙂 My eyelashes are my favorite bit too – and I love nailpolish – preferably matt colours…sigh 🙂
    My mum sounds like yours – can’t go a day without makeup – I decided to go completely against her in everything have the eyebrows of a sheepdog, seldom if ever wear foundation or lipstick, but love eyeliner and mascara 🙂 as long as people only see my eyes I’m happy 🙂
    With Josie – am sure you look lovely without makeup and I can never get foundation right its ALWAYS orange, whatever colour I buy…

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      December 10, 2009 11:09 am

      Ooo, I definitely prefer matt nail varnish and lipstick too actually. I have a lovely matt dark grey varnish from Asda Smart Price! One of my faves and only about £1!
      Foundation wise, I tend to use No 7, Intelligent Colour. It changes shade to your skin tone! Amazing! I haven’t been orange since I found it!

  6. notsuchayummymummy permalink*
    December 10, 2009 11:14 am

    Huh?

Trackbacks

  1. Writing Workshop #8 – My addiction to cosmetics » Workshop, Writing, Halloween, Deep, Bourgeois » Erotik an den Feiertagen
  2. I shall go to the Cybermummy ball! « Not such a Yummy Mummy's Blog

Leave a Reply

