Skip to content

Have I really changed that much?

December 14, 2009
tags:

Amy at ‘And 1 more makes 4’ mentioned her ideal Christmas presents this week and asked us to tell her what we’d want. Pretty much everything on her list actually! It got me thinking though just how different my Christmas list is this year. What happened to my youth, my vitality, my verve? When did I become a grown up wife and mummy?

Christmas List pre baby:

1 fabulous pair of ridiculously high heels (preferably platform)

1 gorgeous going out top, the lower & more revealing the better

Perfume – designer. Donna Karen Gold or La Prairie Silver Rain

Book vouchers so I can buy whatever novels I want as I have plenty of time to read them

A bottle of really good vodka

CDs, to be played very loud in the car with windows wide open whilst having a sneaky cig

Restaurant vouchers for somewhere in the city centre

Cash, for going out with our friends

Christmas List post baby:

Slow cooker

4 fabulous tea towels

A really good food processor

Cook books (including baking & bread making)

Different sized cake tins

A nice jumper

Flat ballet slippers in a bright colour (these purple ones would be perfect)

An iPhone (there’s a remnant of my old self still trying to get out)

Of course when people have asked what I want for Christmas, what I’ve said is ‘Oh don’t bother about me, a car or tractor for Sam would be lovely though!’

I know I  became a parent on 2nd July 2008 but when did I actually become a mummy?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2009 4:47 pm

    I hear you honey. I didn’t even get an advent calendar this year and I’m just about to sacrifice my Christmas present money to pay for Ant to go the dentist.

    Being a grown-up sucks.

  2. December 14, 2009 9:33 pm

    Oh so so true, I have the slow cooker, the cake tins, the magimix (but would love a kitchen aid too), the bread machine, the ballet flats and the iphone!!!

  3. December 14, 2009 10:09 pm

    Oh my god – I have a set of tins on my list too! What is happening to us?? I ened included 2 box sets (Wire series 4, and Desperate Housewives series 5) since I don’t go out. Desperate housewives is right!

  4. December 15, 2009 12:39 pm

    Oh, I know what you mean. We got complaints from my in-laws this year because there was nothing fun on our wish list.

  5. December 16, 2009 3:11 pm

    There’s a food processor, slippers and a kitchen timer on mine! I didn’t realise that a side effect of being a mum was being so boring when it comes to pressies! I’ll just have to buy some heels for the ‘old me’ in the sales 🙂

Leave a Reply

