Skip to content

My favourite photo

January 6, 2010

There’s a meme going around the bloggers at the moment about their favourite photo. I loved reading about them and seeing them so I was so excited when Pippa at A Mother’s Ramblings tagged me in it!! Yay!! If you haven’t yet checked out Pippa’s blog then do. She’s being incredibly organised and will be doing preparations for Christmas on the 25th of every month this year. I’m definitely going to be stopping by for inspiration. I made Pippa’s home made chocolate this Christmas and they went down a treat!

So, my favourite photo. Three stood out for me straight away. Surprisingly my wedding picture wasn’t included in those. Nor were any of my parents or my dogs. I’m going to show you the top 3 with little explanations for each. Cheating I know, but I really struggled!

In third place was this picture of me on the Great Wall of China. Taken in January 2003 when I was coming to the end of my trip. I’d taught for 6 months and spent a month travelling with some lovely friends I met over there. I was such a homebody before I decided to move out there, my confidence was low and I was so down. This picture reminds me of an amazing adventure and shows me that I may now be an overweight mum & wife but once I was brave enough to move to China alone, to climb the Great Wall, to eat dog, to learn a new language, to teach for the first time ever and to make new friends. This picture really makes me proud!

 

In second place is this photo of my sister and Sam in Australia back in September. We were at Moore River near Perth, where the river meets the sea. It was a fairly warm day, Sam loved playing in the sea. We had a walk around the dunes and a picnic on the beach. We were relaxed, happy and just glad to all be together again! Helen hadn’t seen Sam for 9 monthsand they got on fantastically. I miss her very much and I know how much she misses us all, including Sam. As they now live in Perth the times she’ll get to spend with Sam is very precious and photo opportunities like this will be few and far between. Sam won’t remember this trip but I have 500 photos to show him and this is by far my favourite.

 

In first place (drum roll please…..) is this one! Unsurprisingly it’s one of Sam. It was taken last June in the middle of a heat wave. I call it Sam’s catalogue pose!  We’d been to our local pub beer garden for a late tea and had left Craig there while I took Sam home to bed. At the back of our house is a park. It was such a lovely evening that I thought I’d take Sam on the swings for 10 minutes before we went home. He was so smiley and giggly the whole time then a dog barked and he looked away. I adore his chubby little face on this picture. His skin looks so smooth, his eyes so blue, his beautiful feet so edible and I love him in that cute hat! The outfit (from next) is my most favourite one I’ve ever bought him. The photo is my gravatar for everything, is framed on my fireplace and was in an inscribed photo frame we bought my Grandma this Christmas. I just want to cry when I look at this picture. That’s MY baby – I made him! Incredible.

 

Sorry that I turned that meme round a bit but these 3 photos symbolise such different things for me and evoke such a range of emotions that I wanted to show you them all.

Now I’d like to tag my very lovely friend Josie at Sleep is for the Weak. I’m sure she’s already been tagged but as she’s a bit of a photographer I’m very interested in the photo that she’d choose!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2010 11:57 pm

    I love that photo too, it is just so beautiful! Glad you had fun with this!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      January 8, 2010 3:29 pm

      Oh I did! Sorry I cheated a bit though!

  2. January 7, 2010 10:45 am

    That must have been some adventure, going to China like that. Wow.

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      January 8, 2010 3:29 pm

      It was amazing. I will blog about it at some point when I have more time.

  3. January 7, 2010 12:28 pm

    really lovely picture, it must be hard choosing only one

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      January 8, 2010 3:29 pm

      Very, very hard. After I posted this I thought of loads more I could have used too!

  4. January 7, 2010 10:11 pm

    yeah, those photos of our pre-children adventures keep us sane when we think we’ve lost our way. Great collection.

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      January 8, 2010 3:30 pm

      Definitely. Sometimes I get albums out from before we had Sam & it’s a different world! I love to reminisce.

  5. January 9, 2010 12:10 pm

    Thanks so much for taking part. Only one photo gets added to the gallery though – no cheating!
    Gorgeous picture and love that there is a little story behind it x

    Here’s the original request in case you’re curious: http://stickyfingers1.blogspot.com/2010/01/your-favourite-photo-new-meme.html

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      January 11, 2010 10:32 pm

      Thanks Tara! I hadn’t a clue where it has come from so I’ll have a look.
      I knew I’d cheated but couldn’t help myself! One photo is so hard!
      Glad you like the photo 🙂

  6. January 12, 2010 10:25 pm

    Hi, Thanks for leaving such a lovely comment on my blog about the buggy blankets. Its lovely to hear that you like them! I do sell them on folksy if you want to have a look along with funky bibs which make great presents too! http://www.folksy.com/shops/SewScrumptious
    Good luck with the givaway!! Am now following your blog too. I also have a little Sam (18 months!). Louise x

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      January 12, 2010 10:50 pm

      Hi Louise!
      Thanks for coming over & following me. I’ve had a look at Folksy & am in love with everything! My sister in law & friend will definitely be getting a blanket & bib at least when the babies arrive. The Oh la la one is my absolute favourite! It reminds me of Lulu Guinness designs!
      I hope your Sam is behaving better than mine at the moment. Bloody molars have thrown his whole sleeping routine out! x

  7. January 12, 2010 10:56 pm

    Thanks for the lovely feedback! Should be getting some great new fabrics in soon so lots of new stuff will be listed shortly. My Sam is being a nightmare at the moment! Combination of bad cold and teething. Feels like I haven’t slept properly for months. I’m a very grumpy mummy at the moment!!

Leave a Reply

