Skip to content

Bloggers for Haiti – please donate

January 19, 2010
tags:

It’s been a week or so since I’ve blogged, what with having my exams and Sam’s recent refusals to eat or sleep. I was thinking of blogging about Sam’s little issues, the wockachonga spot that has taken over my right cheek, the crossroads I have come to in my professional life. However, they all kind of paled in comparison to what has been happening in Haiti. I’m excellent at burying my head in the sand over things like this. I switch off the news, ignore Yahoo’s news page when I check my emails and avoid newspapers. I don’t like hearing about sad things and will do most things not to see them.

In this day and age though it is impossible. It’s everywhere. Twitter (where I spend much of my free time) included. I’m sorry but I’m not actually sure where this originated (I had an internet free weekend) but everyone was talking about #bloggersforhaiti.. Whichever kind soul it was has organised all the mummy bloggers to post about the crisis in Haiti (I think it was Erica at Little Mummy) and to (if possible) donate money so aid can be sent.

I wasn’t sure if we’d be able to afford to donate, we live very hand to mouth but when I asked Craig last night (he checks the bank account daily, I do my usually ostrich impression) if I could donate some money he was shocked I’d even asked. ‘This is about humanity, not the state of our overdraft’. Fair enough, I have now donated. Not as much as we would have liked but as much as we could afford. Now I’m not the most eloquent person in the world so I will point you in the direction of Little Mummy, Sleep is for the Weak, The Mad House and Chic Mama who write about this crisis so much better than I can. For those who can’t afford to give cash have a look at A Mother’s Ramblings for Pippa’s ideas on what you can do instead.

Craig & I were talking last night about a picture that had been in The Sun over the weekend. A father was carrying the body of his dead daughter. I keep trying not to but I can’t help thinking about how I’d feel in his position. We’ll never be able to bring his daughter back or stop the pain but we could help to put a roof over his head, to eat and to drink clean water. One of Craig’s friends said ‘Why should be help them, they couldn’t afford to help us if the roles were reversed’. What a load of shit! We CAN afford to help them, even a little bit. They were already an impoverished country before this tragedy hit. They didn’t ask for it. They aren’t asking for loadsamoney so they can buy designer clothes, Cristal and caviar. They’re asking for help for basic human necessities. Water, food, shelter, medicine, rescue.

As the site says ‘We want to raise enough money to send at least one Shelterbox to Haiti.  Each box costs an average of £490 including all materials, packing, storage and distribution to individual recipients worldwide. Based on six months use only this equates to 27 pence per person per day.’ As of just now when I checked the website Bloggers for Haiti has raised over £3000, enough for 6 Shelterboxes. Shall we go for 10?

Come on people, donate whatever you can here. We need to help this poor nation try to come back from this awful, devastating blow. Please help.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2010 7:29 am

    Wow, that is a challenge! I’ll recommend a short one … How about “The Reader”?

  2. Nelly O'Neille permalink
    February 8, 2010 6:37 pm

    Millions have lost everything in the quake – homes, food, jobs! For the next 12 months, the World Food Programme says 2 million people will need critical food assistance! If you want to help and learn more about the crisis response, go to: http://wfp.org/crisis/haiti> or you can text FRIENDS to 90999 to make a $5 donation.

Leave a Reply

