Skip to content

The 100 book challenge 2010

January 25, 2010

Pippa blogged about the 100 book challenge a few days ago  and asked if anybody fancied joining her. Meeeeee!!! I shouted.  If you know me in real life then you know just how much I love reading. My parents used to lose me shopping and I could always be found sat in the shoe department reading a book. Nowadays I’m never without a book in my bag, just in case I get a spare minute or so to disappear into another world.

I feel a bit embarrassed about the kinds of book I read, they’re not exactly what you’d call ‘worthy’ books. I’m a bit too fond of Jackie Collins, chick lit and escapism. Not that there’s anything wrong with this, jst everyone else seems to reading critically acclaimed, Booker Prize winners which my bonkbusters are not.

So I have decided that I will read 100 books this year and blog about them in groups of 5. Out of those 5, 1 will be a ‘Classic’, 1 will be an autobiography and I will only read books I haven’t read before.  I won’t review them but I will say if I enjoyed them.  (I only actually decided on these rules after the first 6 books but I’ve never read any of them so that one still counts!).

So, here are my first 5 books of the year!

Sue Townsend – Adrian Mole: The Prostrate Years.

Craig bought me this for Christmas. I haven’t read Adrain Mole since I was about 13 3/4 but I thoroughly enjoyed this and laughed out loud more than once.

Cathy Glass – The Saddest Girl in the World

Another Craig bought for me. I never choose books like this, I don’t like being depressed in my spare time but I actually liked this one. Not bad at all.

Jo Carnegie – Naked Truths

A bit of a chick lit bonkbuster from the former deputy editor of heat (which was my bible until I thought that at approaching 30 I really should move to the more grown up Grazia). Loved it! Very funny, total escapism. Just what I needed when I wasn’t revising.

Chris Cleve – incendiary

Bloody amazing. I cried my eyes out and it gave me nightmares. It was wonderful (if you’ve read it you know what I mean). Craig also bought me book vouchers for Xmas (I’m such a geek) and I thought I’d try different authors. I’m so glad I found this, I’ll get all Chris Cleve’s books now.

Emily Giffin – baby proof

This was pretty good too. An interesting take on the ‘one half wants a baby, the other half doesn’t’ as it’s the woman who doens’t want children. Good escapism again although the ending was a bit pants.

If anyone would like to join in (you don’t have to be a blogger) then you can sign up here.  As of right now there are 654 people doing the challenge (I’m 637) although some smart arse is going for 500 apparently. She mustnt have kids, a partner,a  job, a life etc. Or the books are in fact all the Mr Men & Little Miss’s.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2010 10:04 pm

    Pffff There’s always one..

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      January 25, 2010 10:51 pm

      I’m not reading her blog. She’ll annoy me. Who can read almost 2 books a day FFS?

  2. January 25, 2010 10:14 pm

    Some good books there, don’t worry about what you are doing on the type of books, some of mine are going to be well off the scale of “worthy” 😉

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      January 25, 2010 10:50 pm

      Oh good, we can read bonkbusters together! Think a couple of Danielle Steel will creep in there too 🙂

  3. January 25, 2010 10:27 pm

    After reading this I think I should take a leaf out of your book because I’m a total Jackie Collins freak too and have read all of them! About time I read something different apart from books about sex and pefect looking women!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      January 25, 2010 10:44 pm

      She’s wonderful isn’t she!! If you like her have you tried Louise Bagshawe & Tilly Bagshawe? They’re along the same lines and I love them! I’m sure a few Jackie Collins will creep in, I can’t just read award winners, I’d be bored!

      • January 25, 2010 11:57 pm

        No I haven’t read any from those, I’ll have to investigate now! Thanks! Ive read a couple by Torey Haydyn. Really sad stories and I was in tears but definite ‘must-reads’!

  4. January 25, 2010 10:27 pm

    What a great idea! I’d join in but no chance would I be able to read 100 books in a year! I do recommend some reading material in the form of Karen Rose. She’s fantastic!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      January 25, 2010 10:43 pm

      I’m not sure if I’m going to be able to do it to be honest! Not with my dissertation too! I love reading though so I’m going to give it a bloody good go!! I’ll make a note of Karen Rose & have a look at the library. Thanks!

  5. January 25, 2010 11:10 pm

    Good for you, hope you manage it! I’m hopeless at reading at the moment due to new baby (or is that an excuse?!). Might give this a go next year. I need to find a good (easy going) book so I can get back into reading again.

  6. January 26, 2010 10:53 pm

    Great idea! I look forward to reading the reviews. I don’t think I can read that much, though – so I’d better not join in.

  7. January 27, 2010 12:09 am

    Hey Emma!
    Just wanted to let you know that I love your blog. I love the way you can just say what you’re thinking and feeling and make it humorous as well. I laugh at loud at lots of your stuff!I think it’s fab!
    Just wanted to say you were an inspiration for me to come off Facebook and write something properly. That’s the second time you have been a kind of role model to me. I always looked up to you when I was aspiring to go to university.
    So thanks, again!
    If you want to check mine out its pieandgravy.com. It’s a bit different to yours- I’m not quite as brave as you are with being completely honest about how I feel and think. It’s kind of a travel diary too which I think you would enjoy.
    For the record, I think you’re amazing- everything you fit in and still have time to write and be independent.
    Oh, I took up the book challenge too:)
    Hopefully speak soon.
    Danni

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      January 27, 2010 9:49 am

      Hello!!!
      I’ve been over to your blog & wrote a whole big reply (and added you to my favourites & blogroll). xxx

Leave a Reply

