Skip to content

Writing Workshop #11

January 28, 2010

This weekend I had the most perfect time. I spent Saturday, as I always do with Sam, my Mum and Grandma. We went to Bury, had a nice lunch, went shopping, swapped the pram for a child’s yellow taxi which you can get free at the Millgate Shopping Centre. Sam screamed ‘ca, ca’ as soon as we saw it and didn’t stop smiling the 2 hours we wandered around shopping. He steered the steering wheel and shouted ‘Hiya’ to anyone who came within about 4 feet of him. When waiting for my Grandma to return something at M&S I spied a book to keep him entertained. It was about dinosaurs and roared at him when he pressed the button. He laughed so hard he ran out of breath, no noise came out and just his shoulders were shaking. My Mum, Grandma and I laughed so hard we had tears rolling down our cheeks. The people in queue were laughing and told me what a beautiful little boy I had. 

On Sunday Sam slept in until 10.15am. At 9.45am I woke up and ran into his room scared that something had happened to him. Nope, he was just snoring! After I had spoken to my sister we went to KFC for lunch (a very rare treat). It was Sam’s first KFC. He ate 3 chips and 2 tubs of tomato ketchup. I don’t think we’ll be going back! We had a walk around Next. Sam sat on the sofas, pointed out clothes saying ‘Oooo’, stroked the shoes (he is my son after all) and had a conversation with the lady working on the changing rooms which went:

Sam ‘Hiya’

Lady ‘Hello, aren’t you a lovely little thing’

Sam ‘Yeah’

We went to Tesco’s to play with the toys but not buy them (naughty!). Sam was fine leaving the talking Yojojo behind but got quite upset when he had to leave the vacuum cleaner.

When we got home Craig went to the pub, Sam went in his cot playing (refusing to sleep) for half an hour while I cleaned up and put some washing on. When he started screeching ‘Emma, Emmmmmaaa’ at the top of his voice I brought him downstairs and we watched some Peppa Pig we’d recorded. We played jigsaws, read his dinosaur book AGAIN, did some lion and fish impressions (learnt from Waybuloo – who says TV doesn’t teach children anything?), ate a big tea, had a fun bathtime and got dressed in his big boy pyjamas.

After he’d gone to bed I cried because I had just had the best weekend ever with my gorgeous little man. With all the stress of exams and assignment I haven’t spent a weekend like that with him since about October. As I work full time too that means I’ve spent precious little quality time with him for months. That’s shit.

So for this week’s Writing Workshop I have chosen prompt #5  .

What exciting job would you like to do for a day?
– Inspired by my poetical musings this week.

I discounted a singer,  lottery winner (spending that kind of money is a job right? Well I intend to make it one anyway), shoe buyer, professional shoe wearer, make up tester and all the other things I’d love to do. Instead, today I can’t think of anything more fun or more exciting than to spend one day being a Stay At Home Mum.

I’d get up around 7am to put Sam’s milk on (he refuses all milk bar formula at the moment), put some laundry on and tidy up. Sam would wake up gently at 7.30am, not screaming ‘Emma’ at the top of his voice as normal. We have breakfast and get ready together, listening to the Mary Poppins soundtrack. We’d go swimming. Apparently Sam is getting really good at just using his armbands. I say apparently as I don’t know. I’ve only been swimming with him twice and not since last summer. I’d chase him round the changing rooms getting him dressed, we’d laugh, cuddle and I’d get slightly exasperated until he gave me his toothy little smile and giggled at me. We’d go for a walk around the shops hand in hand. Sam would run off and I’d have to hold onto his hood while he pushed everyone aside because HE was walking that way. We’d have lunch at Pizza Hut. Sam would devour tomatoes and cucumber from the salad bar and some garlic bread. I would devour everything else there.

We’d go home so Sam could have a nap and I could sort the washing/ironing/more cleaning (does it ever end?) and maybe get 10 minutes reading Grazia before Sam would shout Mummy (maybe) and he’d get up. We’d spend the afternoon at home, just playing, watching Gigglebiz (he adores that show) and Deal or No Deal. He’d have a healthy, nutritious meal that I’d cooked. He wouldn’t throw it on the floor and demand Jaffa Cakes. We’d have a splashy bath together and Sam would drink his milk, watch Waybuloo and got to bed, tired after a long, fun day with Mummy.

I know lots of people do this every day and it gets as monotonous and as stressful as all jobs but right now I can’t think of anything more exciting. He’s learning new words and dances every day (I think the Cbeebies Winter song has finally been accepted as he knows most of the routine!) and I’m missing out on so much. To spend a whole day together, just the two of us (sorry Craig!) would be wonderful.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2010 10:09 am

    Aww that sounds so fab. What a great weekend you had. There is nothing more fun than hanging out with the little one (when they are well behaved)

    My little one loves Gigglebiz so much we have recorded them all for “emergencies”

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      January 29, 2010 2:34 pm

      We record them too! And Peppa Pig!

  2. January 28, 2010 10:13 am

    Aw…that’s lovely. Makes me appreciate the fact that I can spend every day like this. Except I don’t do the laundry! 😉

    Karin

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      January 29, 2010 2:35 pm

      That’s the only bit of housework I actually enjoy! I love the satisfaction of getting to the bottom of my washing basket.

      I used to have a life you know…

  3. January 28, 2010 12:36 pm

    I just want to hug you, I know it is hard, but you are doing what is best for your little one right now. I went to work when Top Ender was little and feel so bad that I am at home now that Baby Boy is little. I feel that she thinks that I feel he needs me more than she did and that isn’t true.

    Sorry for taking over your comments 😉

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      January 29, 2010 2:35 pm

      You haven’t! It’s different with 2, I can imagine you need that extra time at home!

  4. January 28, 2010 2:36 pm

    So lovely! I shall make a point of being extra nice to the kids later, just because I get to be here. x

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      January 29, 2010 2:37 pm

      Thanks! xx

  5. Layla permalink
    January 28, 2010 6:33 pm

    Thank you for reminding me that what I do everyday is a privilige. I spend so much time convincing OH that I’m not just skiving and that it is actually hard work, I sometimes forget that I love it and wouldn’t have it any other way. You’re very brave for doing it your way, and at least you appreciate the quality time you get

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      January 29, 2010 2:37 pm

      Thank you. I really do appreciate it. An hour a day in the week isn’t much but we do have fun.

      I think being a SAHM is actually harder than going out to work. At least at work you get breaks and time to go to the loo! Anyone who hasn’t done it hasn’t a clue!

  6. January 29, 2010 11:36 am

    Emma this is beautiful.

    I hate that you feel like you’re missing out. You must miss Sam so much, and he is such a gorgeous, sweet boy.

    Reading your description of your perfect day made me a little sad though, you know? Because I wish I could have day like that too. I really do. I sometimes read descriptions of other stay-at-home mum’s days and it seems so much the polar opposite of what it’s like for me. Makes me wonder what on earth I’m doing wrong!

    Anyway. What’s important is that the time you DO spend with Sam, like your lovely, perfect weekend, is so much more precious and appreciated. You have a very special relationship and that’s never going to change.

    Proud of you. You are fab xx

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      January 29, 2010 2:39 pm

      You’re not doing a damn thing wrong hun. I can imagine my perfect day would not actually go like that, it would be a battle to get dressed, a battle to have lunch, I’d get upset and not bother going out and we’d both sulk! I just like to think he’d be perfect if he spent more time with me! xxx

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      January 29, 2010 2:39 pm

      And you rock. xxx

Leave a Reply

