Skip to content

My Monday Memory Meme

February 1, 2010

Rainbow Brite and the Colour Kids

Erica @ LittleMummy has tagged me in a Memory Meme! I love things like this and have been racking my brains to think of something I loved many moons ago.

The first song I actually remember is Adam Ant’s Prince Charming. I still love him to bits even though he is now a near bald mental patient. Well, no one is perfect!

 The first song I actually bought was The Housemartin’s Caravan of Love.  I must have been all of 6/7 so why I didn’t go for cheesy shit I don’t know. I’ve followed Paul Heaton’s career ever since, buying all The Housemartins and later, the Beautiful South’s albums. When the Beautifiul South split a few years ago due to ‘musical similarities’ I was gutted. I think this is the best song in the world ever and I always sing my heart out to it.

When I was thinking about my favourite TV show I was torn. I loved My Little Pony, Care Bears, T-bag and T-shirt and Rod Hull and Emu. Out of the blue though it hit me, the show I watched over and over, the dolls I took to bed with me, the videos I begged my mum for – Rainbow Brite. Oh how I loved her!!! I wanted a teeny blue star on my cheekbone (possibly where my love of tattoos comes from? I still love the stars on the face idea – Kat von D looks amazing). I needed a sprite of my own (Twink), I needed my own horse (Starlite) and I definitely needed my own group of brightly coloured friends (the Colour Kids). Is it coming back to you yet? Can you remember all the names of the Colour Kids without Googling them (I didn’t!) Patty O’Green, Buddy Blue, Canary Yellow etc. Oh the memories!

While I was looking around for the names of the Colour Kids I’ve found this website which is obviously run by a mentalist  person with a deep love of all things Rainbow Brite. She/he has the details of the new series of Rainbow Bright which started last year! How did I miss that?! It must only be in the US at the moment. Looking at the new Rainbow Brite thought she looks a bit shit so I’m not over bothered.

For anyone who remembers it, here is a trip back 25 years. For those of you that don’t remember it, watch the magic unfold…

Now to tag. In the spirit of meeting new bloggers, being inclusive and highlighting new blogs I shall choose 3 people I have never tagged before but who’s blogs I love, love, love. I have no idea if they know who I am, if they’ll see this or if they do memes. But here we go anyway…

I tag: Louise at  Sew Scrumptious, Kathryn @ I know I need to stop talking and Kelly @ A place of my own

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2010 3:19 pm

    Ohh, another closet rainbow bright fan! loved her and my strawberry shortcake..and my little pony’s, love retro toys, much better than now, what has milly got to look forward too? bratz!!!ewww!!
    Sorry bit of a long comment but you got me started ;D
    ps,Prince charming was the first single i ever bought, along with velvet pedal pushers and frilly shirt, so sad…so true! x

  2. February 1, 2010 3:20 pm

    I loved Rainbow Brite too (I guess we must be of a similar thirty-something age?) The year I got my Starlite was like, one of my best Christmases EVER! : )
    This post has really made me smile – thank you for reminding me of my own childhood memories x

  3. February 3, 2010 4:35 pm

    I definitely have very vague memories of this show!

  4. February 16, 2010 10:52 pm

    Oohhh The Housemartins – good stuff!!

Leave a Reply

