Skip to content

100 book challenge – Books 6-10

February 9, 2010

 

We’re in the 2nd week of February now and I’m up to book 13. I’m pretty pleased with how things are going so far. I wanted to get a bit ahead of myself as I know I won’t have time to read as much soon when I really get going on my dissertation.

So, what have I been reading since the last post?

Image from Amazon

I love Louise Bagshawe (and her sister Tilly Bagshawe)’s books. She’s been described as a young Jackie Collins which is right up my street! Her earlier books weren’t that great but she has got better & better. I loved this ‘Cinderella’ type story which made me laugh out loud. Always a good sign.
I’m around 5 years later reading this. I remember all the furore over it when it first came out but had no inclination to read it at the time. When I saw it though in Waterstones a few weeks ago though I thought why not! I’m so glad I bought it. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this. I found it a bit hard going to start with but by about page 50 I was well into it. I stayed up stupidly late to finish and sat there for a while afterwards very upset at the ending. The way everything is revealed is brilliant and heart breaking. I’d recommend this to everyone!

Image from Amazon

After We need to talk about Kevin I needed something light hearted which was easy to read. This was a good choice then! I love the Chris Moyles show and listen every day. This book was fine if you’re a fan – Chris’s journey to Radio 1, a bit about the rest of the Team. It’s not Shakespeare obviously but it is, well, fine. A very easy read requiring little concentration. From these vacuous ramblings I moved to….

Image from Amazon

 Virginia Woolf – A Room of One’s Own

I am not good at literary books like this. Some parts I loved, some I didn’t understand what on earth she was saying. I tried, I really did but reading the 112 pages took me days and days – I just wasnt that interested. I have to say I’m worried about choosing a ‘classic’ to read in each group of 5. I really hope that I get into the right mind set.

Image from Amazon

 Polly Williams – The Egg Race

Another chick lit book (sorry!). This was pretty good, not fabulous. About older women getting married & wanting babies. Nicely entertaining but I wouldn’t run across hot coals to read it.  

So, onwards towards my next 5. I may have made a bit of a boo boo. I was looking at autobiographies & biographies in the library & the only one I wanted to read was Chairman Mao’s biography. Over 800 pages, oh dear.  I may have slowed myself down somewhat! 

On the upside my collection of books to read has greatly expanded. Thanks goodness for charity shops! I got 6 books for £3, including Lolita which I’ve been wanting to read for ages! Result! 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2010 8:20 pm

    Good mix of books. Looking forward to the next lot.

  2. winstonsdad permalink
    February 13, 2010 12:34 am

    GOOD LUCK WITH YOUR CHALLENGE SOME NICE CHOICES ,STU

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      February 13, 2010 12:44 am

      Thanks! Proving tough this week. I’m reading Bill Bryson’s A Short History of Nearly Everything and a biography of Chairman Mao!

  3. February 18, 2010 8:41 pm

    Hey Emma!
    You’re doing great with the books. I’m on 11 now. It’s harder than I thought. I feel bad looking at how many blogs you have posted since I was away for a week. I need to get on it!
    I got a long e mail from Helen the other day. She seems overwhelmingly happy. I’m so glad for her.

    Danni

    P.S The pancake pics of Sam are well cute and the pancakes look totally yummy!!

Leave a Reply

