Skip to content

99 things…

February 12, 2010

 

The Great Wall & me. January 2003.

I saw this a week or so ago on A Mother’s Ramblings but didn’t get round to doing it and forgot all about it. I’ve just seen this on The Life of a 20 Something Mum  and had to do it! I think originated at Single Motherhood Challenges, but apologies if I’m wrong!

 Here’s a list of 99 things. If you fancy & have a spare 10 minutes, bold the ones you have done and post on your blog!

1. Started your own blog

 
2. Slept under the stars

 

3. Played in a band

4. Visited Hawaii

5. Watched a meteor shower
6. Given more than you can afford to charity

7. Been to Disneyland

8. Climbed a mountain (a number of mountains thanks to my Geology degree)

9. Held a praying mantis

10. Sang a solo (when I was about 6 but that counts, right?)

11. Bungee jumped

12. Visited Paris

13. Watched a lightening storm

14. Taught yourself an art from scratch

15. Adopted a child

16. Had food poisoning

17. Walked to the top of the Statue of Liberty

18. Grown your own vegetables (I’m not counting Cress Heads)

19. Seen the Mona Lisa in France

20. Slept on an overnight train (China have the best sleeper trains ever!)

 
21. Had a pillow fight

22. Hitch hiked (no, I’m not a blonde cheerleader with a death wish)

23. Taken a sick day when you’re not ill
 (Of course not, I’m in HR & it’s my job to reduce sickness absence any way I can.  What do you mean ‘remember those couple of days in the summer when it was hot?’ That wasn’t me in the deckchair or the beer garden. Slander!)

24. Built a snow fort
25. Held a lamb

26. Gone skinny dipping (are you insane?)

27. Run a Marathon (ahahahahahaha)

28. Ridden in a gondola in Venice (now that was expensive)
29. Seen a total eclipse

30. Watched a sunrise or sunset

31. Hit a home run

32. Been on a cruise

33. Seen Niagara Falls in person

34. Visited the birthplace of your ancestors (I’m common – they’re all from Oldham so that’s easy)

35. Seen an Amish community

36. Taught yourself a new language (Ni hao!)

37. Had enough money to be truly satisfied (who has?)

38. Seen the Leaning Tower of Pisa in person

39. Gone rock climbing

 
40. Seen Michelangelo’s David (surprisingly small willy)

 
41. Sung karaoke (yeah baby!! I rock. )

 

42. Seen Old Faithful geyser erupt

43. Bought a stranger a meal at a restaurant (sod that, I can barely afford my own!)

44. Visited Africa (Egypt ok?)

 
45. Walked on a beach by moonlight (I was pregnant about an hour later 🙂 )

46. Been transported in an ambulance

 

47. Had your portrait painted

48. Gone deep sea fishing

49. Seen the Sistine Chapel in person

50. Been to the top of the Eiffel Tower in Paris

51. Gone scuba diving or snorkelling (before the major shark phobia kicked in)


52. Kissed in the rain
53. Played in the mud

54. Gone to a drive-in theater

55. Been in a movie (in Year 8 our Latin class made a whole film in Latin. I played Thetis, Goddess of the Sea. I actually still have this on video!!)


56. Visited the Great Wall of China
(the good bit, not the commercial touristy bit)

 
57. Started a business (Young Enterprise business called Anomaly, we were shit hot!)

58. Taken a martial arts class (I was rather proficient in Ju Jitsu for around 5 weeks in 1991)

 
59. Visited Russia (I was in Moscow airport for HOURS, it snowed. That is my memory of Russia)

60. Served at a soup kitchen

 

61. Sold Girl Scout Cookies

62. Gone whale watching (only in the mirror)

63. Got flowers for no reason (well he SAID there was no reason)

 
64. Donated blood, platelets or plasma (every 4 months thanks very much. YOU should too, yes YOU)

65. Gone sky diving

 

66. Visited a Nazi Concentration Camp

67. Bounced a check (ahem, many. Which is one of the reasons HSBC & I no longer speak)

68. Flown in a helicopter

69. Saved a favourite childhood toy (all my Popples & Rainbow Brite)

70. Visited the Lincoln Memorial

71. Eaten Caviar (it mings)

72. Pieced a quilt

73. Stood in Times Square

74. Toured the Everglades

75. Been fired from a job
(just the one, I stole £30 out of the tips jar on the way out. Fuckers)

76. Seen the Changing of the Guards in London

77. Broken a bone (little finger dancing on the sinks of Henry Afrika’s to Return of the Mack. I got sellotape from behind the bar & sorted it myself. Hardcore.)

 
78. Been a passenger on a motorcycle (My Dad & a boy from school, they were both shit drivers)

 

79. Seen the Grand Canyon in person

80. Published a book

81. Visited the Vatican

82. Bought a brand new car (on my salary?)

83. Walked in Jerusalem

84. Had your picture in the newspaper (I was on a lot of sports teams when I was younger – honestly!)

 
85. Kissed a stranger at midnight on New Year’s Eve (Copper)

 

86. Visited the White House

87. Killed and prepared an animal for eating

88. Had chickenpox

89. Saved someone’s life

90. Sat on a jury

91. Met someone famous (many footballers from the 1990’s, Lee Sharpe, Sarah Lancashire, I used to know the page 3 girl Michelle Marsh but don’t think that counts)

92. Joined a book club (but am shit  at joining in)

93. Got a tattoo (I have 3 and am currently designing my 4th – a biggie on my thigh!)

 
94. Had a baby

95. Seen the Alamo in person

96. Swam in the Great Salt Lake

97. Been involved in a law suit

98. Owned a cell phone

99. Been stung by a bee

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2010 4:58 pm

    Hello, I’m a newbie on your blog
    RE no.93…3 tattoos…Im scared of needles but everyone I know that has had one tattoo always wants another…why are they addictive? lol
    I’ve subscribed to your feed and will stalk through your archives later but for now I’m going to steal this list and post it at the weekend(and link back to you obviously)
    Yoink!

    MissSearles x x

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      February 13, 2010 12:28 am

      Oh thank you for subscribing – that’s lovely of you! Tattoos are addictive, I have no idea why either! I want loads, none of them related. All very random but with huge significance to me.
      I don’t like needles either but they don’t look like needles so it’s ok!
      Go on, I think you want one! x

Leave a Reply

