Skip to content

The Valentine’s Day Cupcake Challenge

February 14, 2010

Not many people know how much I like to bake. Flapjacks, muffins, cakes, cookies, pretty much all kinds of desserts. One thing I hadn’t made in ages though were cupcakes so when English Mum asked for people to join in with her Valentine’s Cupcake Challenge I was in! Of course I nearly changed my mind when I saw the amazing creations other bloggers had made. But I persevered and on Friday night I made some lovely strawberry cupcakes with vanilla buttercream and sugar decorations. I’d never made buttercream before – how delicious? I used about half on the cakes and ate the other half for my lunch the next day. So much for the diet!

As my cupcakes don’t look the best I thought I’d gain points for staging. What do you think?

 

See - staging!

 

They went down a treat with my family. In case you were wondering the really tall one is the one my mum decorated. She’s never decorated a cake before and was extraordinarily proud!

Just to show how he is following in his father’s lady killer shoes Sam took a couple of cupcakes to our nextdoor neighbour’s 3 year old grandaughter Millie and gave her a big Valentine’s kiss!

I’ve already popped over to English Mum’s blog and had a look at the beautiful cupcakes everyone has made, some of them are true materpieces! I won’t win but I really don’t mind. I’d forgotten how much fun it was to make and decorate (and eat) cupcakes so a big thank you to English Mum for helping me to remember! And I’ve learnt how to make buttercream! Although for the sake of my waistline I think that should just be a rare treat! 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. queeneileen permalink
    February 14, 2010 2:25 pm

    i’m only up the road……. *cough*

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      February 15, 2010 3:49 pm

      Sorry – they went pretty quickly! Next time I’ll make some just for you 🙂

  2. February 14, 2010 2:26 pm

    They look fab! I like the pretty colours & decorations! 🙂

    I feel so ashamed of mine!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      February 15, 2010 3:52 pm

      You’re post just made me laugh out loud!! I still think your cupcakes look yummy & I would happily scoff a few!

  3. February 14, 2010 2:31 pm

    Awh, you’re so welcome – they really are beautiful (and just as nice as any of the others – stop putting yourself down!!!) xx

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      February 15, 2010 3:54 pm

      Thanks! I’m still sick with jealousy over the impeccible icing of other peoples’s cupcakes! I really need to learn that!

  4. February 14, 2010 11:00 pm

    They look delish!! I love to bake aswell. I do it with Wee Z but then end up taking over cause, it’s just messy LOL and I’m a bit OCD that way. Feel free to post me one LOL

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      February 15, 2010 3:53 pm

      That’s why I waited til Sam was in bed! I couldn’t have coped with the stress of him and the stress of baking too!

Leave a Reply

