Skip to content

Bigging up my bad self…

February 23, 2010

My favourite photo of me

…or something along those lines.

After I wrote an honest description of myself last week I had some lovely comments, mainly telling me not to be so negative. I can’t help it, I’ve always been of the mentality ‘say it yourself before someone says it about you’. It was pointed out to me in no uncertain terms at university that I was the only one thinking these negative things, therefore I should stop beating myself up about my supposed imperfections. I really should have learnt almost 10 years on.

Newdaynewlesson said I should write a post on the good things about me, instead of focusing on the negative. So here we go. This is making me cringe already. I’m not one for blowing my own trumpet, bigging myself up or anything like that. I find it embarrassing! Here goes…

I love my hair. Although not in the best condition (3 hair cuts in 2 years) I love how long it is. Naturally it’s a light strawberry blonde colour but at  the moment it’s much redder. Red hair makes me feel more confident and I’m proud of my ginger heritage. My eyes are nice shaped and dark. My eyelashes are far and away the favourite part of my body. They’re long, thick and always coated in at least 2/3 coats of black mascara which make them look even longer. As I mentioned previously my nose is a delicate little ski slope rather than the big, bumpy Roman nose it was pre surgery in 2003. I hated my nose but luckily had a minor medical condition that got me a nose job. Result! I love it and even now can often be seen secretly stroking it!

I love my mouth. I like the shape of my lips. They’re quite full. If I make the effort to do the whole lip liner and lip stick thing they can look a bit blow jobby. Not necessarily a bad thing but they look a touch too inflated for my liking. My teeth are pretty nice too. 9 years of orthodontic treatment, 4 removed teeth, 1 minor op and 5 braces have seen to that. I don’t wear my retainers anymore so my lower teeth are going slightly skew-whiff but my upper ones are still nice and straight.  I like my tongue too bizarrely. I had it pierced when I was 20 and still have the stud in. It’s my favourite ever piercing and I don’t care that I’m nearly 30 and a grown up. I will not take it out!

I quite like my neck & chin. They are 2 separate things now after a few years of being one. A ‘nin’ or ‘chick’. I like the slightly taut skin around my jawline. Again, something I hadn’t seen for a few years until recently. It was like greeting an old friend.

I like my hips. Well not quite my hips, they’re big, stretch marky, flabby but marked with a beautiful black butterfly with our wedding date underneath. I love my tattoos. I have the outline of 3 stars on my right foot (my first tattoo)

and a shooting star with Sam’s name and date of birth on my left foot.

Yes, they did hurt actually. Like a bitch! I’m planning my first colour tattoo at the moment, an abstract branch of rose blossom commemorating my time in China. I may have some Chinese writing on there – maybe 中国 (Zhong guo – China) or 南京 (Nanjing, the city where I lived). It’ll be quite big and more than likely on my thigh. Then at some point I’ll have an Aboriginal drawing of a kangaroo for my sister. I expect that will go on my back. As you can see I don’t go for one type of tattoo, but a mish mash of things that have relevance and meaning to me.

Anyway, I’m getting off the point.

I like my legs. Although a bit too chunky around the thighs I have quite long and shapely legs. On the rare occasions people have seen me in skirts they tell me I should wear them more often, that I have lovely legs. I am heeding that and wear dresses/leggings more often. I’m out of my comfort zone but it’s good!

I like my hands. I have long fingers and nails which grow long and strong. I love playing with nail varnish is all the colours of the rainbow and some more. Today they are dark grey. Tonight I think they’ll be navy blue. I haven’t quite worked out how to do a green and purple alternative french manicure so if anyone can help out that would be great. I have a few parties coming up & would love my nails like that!

I think that’s a pretty good list for me, physically. If I was to mention my personality traits my favourite thing to do is make people happy. There’s nothing like making someone smile or laugh.  I often go up to someone on the street and comment on something they’re wearing, how nice it is or how their hait suits them. They probably think I’m on day release from an institution but tough. If it makes them smile, it makes me smile. I’m not afraid of looking stupid to make someone laugh. Take my Twitter avatar for example.

My sex face 🙂

 

This has ended up much more of an essay than I expected. I have learnt that I’m not all bad. I shouldn’t be so down on myself. I’m not perfect but really, who is?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. queeneileen permalink
    February 23, 2010 4:12 pm

    I think you’re bloody wonderful, Mrs M, I truly do. I’ve known you from being ooooo this high and now we’re *cough cough* *mutter* years old – you’ve just got better 🙂

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      March 1, 2010 4:37 pm

      Oh bless yous. xxx

  2. February 23, 2010 5:30 pm

    What a great post! We sound so alike you and i, I’m good at bigging myself up and much prefer to take the mick before someone else does. I Also get off on making people smile and have been known to do some ridiculous things just to raise a smile. Love the sex face, by the way. 🙂

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      March 1, 2010 4:38 pm

      The lengths we’ll go to to get a laugh! Fluffy bunnies??? Made me nearly wee! I have some marshmallows in the cupboard actually. If I could only get my webcame to work!

  3. February 23, 2010 7:47 pm

    that’s a great thing to do. we often forget to like ourselves! Good for you,

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      March 1, 2010 4:38 pm

      Aww, thanks!

  4. February 23, 2010 10:18 pm

    Let’s hope I don’t meet you when you put on your sex face 😉

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      March 1, 2010 4:45 pm

      You’d love it!

  5. February 23, 2010 11:02 pm

    Lovely post! And your sex face would so work on me. 🙂

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      March 1, 2010 4:46 pm

      It’s never failed me yet! (cough)

  6. February 23, 2010 11:30 pm

    Love that photo, you look so happy! Hard to write posts being nice about yourself isn’t it? I’ve spotted that face on twitter, very funny!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      March 1, 2010 4:47 pm

      Very hard but I needed to. I’m too down on myself. We need to big ourselves up because there’s not many others who will!

  7. February 24, 2010 8:38 pm

    Love the wedding day photo! Also the sex face photo makes me fall about laughing every time it pops up on Twitter. It’s really hard to see our own good points sometimes but this is a great post.

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      March 1, 2010 4:47 pm

      Thank you. I adore that picture (the wedding day one!).

  8. February 25, 2010 9:35 pm

    Bigging you up for bigging youself up! Go girl! I like your tats – I’ve got a star on my wrist and a little design on my hip but I’m planning more too…

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      March 1, 2010 4:37 pm

      Oh lovely. I adore tattoos!

  9. February 26, 2010 2:44 pm

    It was going so well – the lovely wedding shot, the gorgeous tattoos, and then you post your sex face!!!!! Great post, think we could all do with a bit of self praise now and again..so good at putting ourselves down!!!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      March 1, 2010 4:36 pm

      Thank you! Everyone loves my sex face you know.

  10. March 2, 2010 8:37 pm

    ROFL. Sex face! Hahahahaahahaha. Gotta love it.

  11. March 8, 2010 9:23 pm

    Glad to read this finally, but am afraid I am going to have to make you write yet another nice post about yourself but this time with no negatives qualifying your positives.

    You do know that practice makes perfect right!

Leave a Reply

