Skip to content

Our family motto

March 5, 2010

Rosie Scribble posted her family motto  a couple of weeks ago and it got me thinking about what our family motto would be.

I suppose it would be what we say to ourselves most often. I need sleep is an obvious one. I don’t have enought time is as another. As is Why aren’t there enough hours in the bloody day? This seemed more appropiate though.

 

This is what we say pretty much on a day to day basis.

‘I’m tired’ – Keep your head down & get on with it

‘I haven’t done my essay yet’ – Keep your head down & get on with it

‘The house is a mess & I haven’t got time to clean it’ – Keep your head down & get on with it.

A couple of people have asked me for advice lately, on how to manage be a working mum and also on feeling shit during pregnancy. It sounds hard but the only advice I can give really is ‘Keep you head down & get on with it’.

I will always have to work full time, I will be studying for quite a while yet (after a year long break that I really need!), I’m always going to be a mum. There’s never going to be enough hours in the day. Craig will never get the sleep he really needs. We’re not the only ones who are in this position or feel this way, so why go on about it? Very little is going to change and there’s no point dwelling on it. All you can do is keep your head down and get on with it.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2010 12:59 pm

    What a great motto!!

  2. March 5, 2010 1:16 pm

    Its a good motto! Its got me thinking what ours would be….mm. I’ll get back to you, maybe post!

  3. March 5, 2010 3:24 pm

    I think that’s my motto too.

    Occasionally I rebel against it and have an ‘Oh f*ck it’ moment where I give up, but in the main – keep your head down and get on with it fits just right.

  4. March 5, 2010 5:11 pm

    I agree that it’s not good to dwell on negative things and sometimes you do have to just get on with it, but I do believe things can change if you want them to and you shouldn’t stick on a certain path if it’s not right for you. Saying ‘very little is going to change’ is a very negative statement and likely to be a self fulfilling prophecy if you let yourself believe it.

  5. March 5, 2010 6:13 pm

    ooh, a moto – and a good one too. what would mine be…umm…

  6. March 9, 2010 1:11 am

    Hi! your email address listed is not correct btw.

    I was trying to email you to tell you I tagged you in a meme. Have a fun!

    http://newdaynewlesson.wordpress.com/2010/03/09/sometimes-kids-dont-need-to-know-the-whole-truth/

Leave a Reply

