Skip to content

100 book challenge #3

May 11, 2010

 

I wasn’t going to blog today. I’ve had a delivery from Amazon…surely one of the best deliveries you can get! Especially when everything in it was bought by birthday vouchers.  Thanks to everyone at work! There’s nothing quite like that feeling of getting a pile of fresh, clean, unmarked books that you’ve been dying to read. Heart pounding, mouth dry, thoughts of cooking, cleaning, washing, gone. New books! But then I realised I haven’t updated how my 100 book challenge is going for a while so here I am.

Things were put on hold slightly during the weeks of dissertation devastation but now I have a bit more time I’m finally catching up. I won’t tell you what book has me in such a state of ectasy just yet, that will be in a few posts time. For now, here’s what I read from 11 to 15.

 11.  Jenny Colgan – Operation Sunshine.

 I quite like her books, or I did a few years ago. This is ok, typical chick lit which requires no thinking. I usually like that type but I was bored shitless by this I have to admit. It’s no Looking for Andrew McCarthy that’s for sure.

12. Adeline Yen Mah – Falling Leaves. 

Now this book I loved. A beautifully written, heartbreaking memoir of a woman despised by her step mother who turned her family against her during a period of upheaval in China. Very sad but a wonderful, wonderful book. I recommend it to anyone, not just those interested in China & it’s history.  

13. A Short History of Nearly Everything – Bill Bryson.

I’m a big, big fan of Bill Bryson. I honestly believe that if this book was on the Geology degree reading list I would have got better than a 2:2. It covers everything you could ever wish to know about, well, everything! I even know who John Dalton Street in Manchester near where I work is named after. Before you say anything, I mean I actually now know that he was the first person to be diagnosed with colour blindness which for a while was called Daltonism! See, the exact crap I like to say to make me look all smart like. It gives a little peek into the most facinating areas of History, Geology, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Astronomy- perfect for a geek like me. Read it, you must.

Thanks to Tim I even know there’s a version for children which Sam will be reading just as soon as he’s old enough!

14. Lolita – Vladimir Nabokov

I know it’s a classic but I didn’t like it. I found it wordy, boring and just not very interesting. What can I say, I’m a philistine! At least I finished it!

15. I can make you thin – Paul McKenna.

No you can’t Paul, but thanks for trying.

Back soon with 16-20!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2010 11:58 am

    I didn’t find Lolita great either…..wordy and boring, I agree.

  2. May 11, 2010 12:02 pm

    Oh! by the way, I love reading as well. In fact I started a weekly book review, of sorts, on my blog. There is truly nothing as amazing as a bunch of new books….enjoy your birthday gift 🙂

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      May 11, 2010 12:54 pm

      Thank you! I’ll look forward to your reviews!

  3. May 11, 2010 12:23 pm

    I loved Lolita and Bryson. And I like that other people love books as much as I do.

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      May 11, 2010 12:55 pm

      There’s nothing better in the whole world than sitting down undisturbed with a good book. My husband was shocked when I said I’d choose books over TV, films, music and even the internet!

  4. Hoax Caller permalink
    May 11, 2010 1:08 pm

    Would love to take on the challenge of 100 books for the year but I’m a few months late starting and would be ashamed to post the titles on my blog…Does Green Eggs and Ham count as a book?

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      May 12, 2010 2:04 pm

      It most definitely does! It’s quite a long one! I love that book & have ended up called Sam, Sam-I-am, much to the confusion of those who haven’t read Dr Seuss!

  5. May 11, 2010 10:32 pm

    Hahahaha. Paul really can’t? That’s a review I’d love to read on Amazon!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      May 12, 2010 2:03 pm

      He really couldn’t. I’m sure it’ll work for some people but I must be resistant to anyone trying to stop me eating. The only thing that works for me is the Cambridge diet. Gutted!

Trackbacks

  1. PlayPennies Loves…’Not Such A Yummy Mummy’ | PlayPennies

Leave a Reply

