Skip to content

100 book challenge #4

May 17, 2010

Ahhh, there’s nothing like a good book. And admittedly, some of the books I’ve been reading are nothing like good books. There has however been a few gems that I would never have found without undertaking this challenge. If anyone has any recommendations I would love to hear them. I may have to find a new library though, my local one is a bit too full of shite for my liking. Their ‘classic’ section is made up of around 5 Jane Austens and War and Peace. Not what you’d call comprehensive. Then again, I sometimes doubt anyone else in Radcliffe reads….

On to 16 – 20 of the challenge!

16. Single Mother on the Verge – Maria Roberts

I just picked this up off a pile of books that had just been returned to the library (maybe there is someone else who reads in Radcliffe) and I was glad I did. I enjoyed this book to a point but mainly because I realised she was a blogger who got a book deal, living the dream of many bloggers! I haven’t had chance to catch up with her blog but I definitely will. Although not the best book I’ve ever read, or even in the top 20 I liked it. Entertaining, funny and typically heart warming.

17. Who’s that girl – Alexandra Potter

Another book I loved! Unrealistic (girl meets her younger self from 10 years ago and tries to help her) but funny and a great concept. I thoroughly enjoyed this and would recommmend it endlessly.

18. India Knight – Don’t you want me?

Yes, another chick lit book but in my defence I had just started studying hard and needed to give my brain a chance to rest. This was slightly forgettable but nice whilst I read it.

19. Mao, A Life – Philip Short

Well, who’d have thought it, chick lit can hurt your brain too! I needed a bit of gravitas for the biography of this 5 after the fluff of the previous 3. And by god did I get it! Tough going with a whole lot of Chinese politics which was bloody hard to wade through but ultimately satisfying. It’s fascinating to read how a peasant’s son from a small village in China turned into arguably the most vicious, dictatorial mass murderer in history. It’s even more fascinating having witnessed first hand just how adored in his home country he was. I spoke to a Chinese English teacher I worked with in Nanjing about Mao once. She said he was the greatest, most benevolent leader the world had ever seen. I was gobsmacked. He was flighty, narcisstic (as shown by his giant portrait which can be seen everywhere), contradictory and obsessed with sex. (Hopefully quite unlike our new ConDemNation).

20. Forever – Judy Blume

This is kind of my ‘classic’ for these 5! I loved Judy Blume growing up and when I saw this in a charity shop I couldn’t resist. I was dying to see if it was as ‘risque’ as I thought when I first read it aged 10. Of course it isn’t! I couldn’t stop laughing when he named his dick ‘Ralph’! It was fabulous to go back 20 years though to see through a 10 year old eyes once again. Thinking about the first flushes of love and lust  that were still to come.

I’m still pondering whether to include cook books in this list. I read them cover to cover but it seems a bit like cheating to add them on. What do you think?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2010 9:53 am

    You read cook books cover to cover? Really? And I thought I was OCD. 😉 I have read topical encyclopedias cover to cover, though, so I shouldn’t say too much.

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      May 19, 2010 12:30 pm

      Oh yes, I love cookbooks and will happily read them for hours!
      I do get the encyclopedia thing too actually. I quite like reading dictionaries – you learn a lot!

Leave a Reply

