Skip to content

Shame yourself slim #3

May 20, 2010

What a beautiful day! Finally we’re getting a little bit of warm weather! Doesn’t it just put you in the best of moods? Especially when I know my sister is shivering in a chilly, cloudy Perth. Mwuah hahahahah… Sorry Helen but this is payback for over winter when we were freezing in sub zero temperatures, 12 inches of snow and you were spending every free minute basking in the 40+ temperatures on the beach and having a coffee because you were a bit chilly after getting out of the swimming pool.

Back to the diet. This week has been pretty ok. I had a mahoosive fail on Sunday at my parents though. Craig had been helping my Dad decorate the kitchen, Sam and I had been helping my Mum spend money on kitchen accessories at the Trafford Centre and my Dad decided to bring food home from the deli for our tea. Now I can resist a lot of food (honestly, I can – I resisted the fish & chips at work this week!) but I can’t resist the food from my Dad’s deli. Salamis, chorizo, smoked ham, turkey, beef, goat’s cheese, Stilton, Jarlsberg, Black Bomber mature chedder, houmous, sun dried tomatoes, smoked salmon pate, Welsh Dragon pate (venison & chilli), chicken liver pate, sweet peppers stuffed with cream cheese (a personal favourite), olives, olives stuffed with garlic, olives marinated in chilli, German rye bread, olive bread (we like olives), honey & sunflower seed bread…..all washed down with a particularly wonderful toffee apple cheesecake. All available from Bread & Basil, Congleton! (quick plug for my Dad there)

Could you resist? Really? No, me neither. I. Pigged. Out. And it was worth it 🙂

The guilt the next day was pretty bad admittedly but I stuck the The Diet again, did some exercise (lots of running around the park with Sam, exercise bike, moving filing cabinet & 250 files at work, reorganising my parent’s kitchen) and it seems to have paid off.

I now weigh in at….. 13 stone 1 1/4! Yes, that’s a loss of 4lbs this week! Woo hoo! That’s the kind of loss I went on this diet for! My trousers are looser, I’m digging out tops from 5/6 years ago (I’m a terrible hoarder) and I’m feeling good!

I’m not totally happy though. This week’s unusually clement weather has thrown me into the dilemma I’ve had for the last few summers – I’m still to fat to wear nice summer clothes. I don’t like me in skirts, loose trousers, strappy tops, shorts (but who does?), crops, dresses etc. I’m having issues! My clothes are either way to big or too old to wear and I’m too skint to go shopping. Shopping I must go though because otherwise I’ll be sweating in jeans and jumpers. I think I’ll be hitting Primark on payday next week to tide me over until I hit the next dress size down.

With all that on my mind, I’ve got even more incentive to stick at it. I’m not foreseeing any major issues this week. The warm weather makes me even less inclined to eat than normal and I’ll be drinking plenty of lovely water to help flush out all the crap I’ve put in body over the last 30 years. If the weather is still nice on Sunday we may go to Blackpool for the day but I’ll resist all the crap and may treat myself to some yummy cockles & whelks! Can’t wait!

PS I’ve just thought, next week I could break into the 12 stone somethings! Yay!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. queeneileen permalink
    May 20, 2010 8:45 am

    YAY, lady! Well done on the loss!

    And mwahahahahaaaaaaa at Helen. Sorry.

  2. Gemma permalink
    May 20, 2010 11:20 am

    Well done Emma! That is fab!

    I to am in the “inbetween” dress size and have no summer clothes! Really is annoying!

    I think I might do something like this over on my photo journal but not sure if i’m brave enough!!

  3. May 20, 2010 9:35 pm

    wow well done, fab progress. Hope you find some nice summer things.

  4. May 31, 2010 1:34 pm

    Even though I’m no feather weight myself, I don’t get y people can’t cover up when they have a little too much…..gross. If you want to show it, lose a little first.

  5. May 31, 2010 1:37 pm

    omg! am so embarrassed, my previous comment was meant to be for ‘shame yourself slim #4’……..sorry

Leave a Reply

