Skip to content

Shame yourself slim #4

May 27, 2010

I think I’ve figured out what the most annoying thing in the world is – forgetting your camera when you’re on a nice day out. We went to Blackpool on Sunday but my poor, neglected camera stayed at home. Gutted! There were so many amazing photos I could have taken, Sam paddling in the sea, Sam crying because he didn’t like the feeling of sand at first, Sam on the tea cups throwing his arms in the air and screaming ‘Woooo’, Sam having a slushy, Mummy’s new dresses…. Yes we went shopping too! I got a beautiful maxi dress in turquoise & a fawn-y colour, a 1940’s tea dress for work and a bright turquoise cardigan to match both. Thank you Craig for finally getting me my birthday clothes a month after I turned 30!

When we were setting off I was worried I looked like a fat tramp. I was wearing cropped leggings and a long, floaty, strappy top (changing into the maxi dress after I bought it!). Craig said I looked nice but I wasn’t convinced. I needn’t have worried. Oh.My.God. Obese Britain was alive and well in Blackpool. I have never seen anything like it. Bottle white rolls of flab crammed into hot pants and crop tops slowly roasting to an attractive shade of scarlet in the hot sun, beer bellies standing proud, cellulite wobbling wherever we went. Now I’m no light weight but I felt like Kate Moss! It was seriously nauseating. I don’t think I saw an ‘average’ sized person there. They weren’t shy about it either! Rolls of fat were being thrown around everywhere, playing football on the beach, swimming in the sea, stuck on a bench eating ice creams. Not good. Even the children were chubbers.

Is it that hard to serve your children half decent food that won’t pile on the pounds at such a young age? Sam has a limited amount of ‘freezer food’ a week. By which I mean chicken nuggets, waffles, fish fingers. He’d eat them every day if he could but we won’t let him. He’d eat Quavers everyday too if we offered them to him but we don’t. Instead this week we offered him a bowl of blueberries (gone in five minutes) and roasted tomatoes with his twice baked potato with cheese and beans. The potato was left, the cherry tomatoes devoured. We should give children more credit sometimes. Just because we don’t like vegetable doesn’t mean we shouldn’t offer them to kids. It’s all in the attitude.

Well, rant over. I don’t want to talk about what I’ve eaten this week. I rested on my laurels from the success last week and have been a little picker. You know what they say about them….

I was quite proud of myself on Sunday because as Sam ate a McDonalds (yes I know I said never again and have just ranted about bad food but it’s a treat and no BBQ sauce was involved) I had a diet coke! Yes, I TURNED DOWN MCDONALDS! I don’t think you realise the magnitude of this. I would eat McDs all the live long day. I love it but I said no! Even Craig was impressed.

Saying all that I have not lost any weight. Bum. This little picker will be wearing bigger knickers for a while longer. I blame cheese, Jarlsberg to be specific which was on offer in Asda the other day and was begging me to eat it. So I did.

This is another week though so back to it. It’ll be a hard one. I’m meeting a friend for lunch tomorrow, we’ll be going out for a meal over the Bank Holiday and I’m in the mood for cooking. This week’s menu (for Craig & Sam) includes sticky sweet ribs, chicken and ham pie (from the Tana Ramsay cook book I won on English Mum’s blog), chicken and pesto lasagne, millionaire’s shortbread and fruity seed bites. I must not pick!

I have to take comfort in the fact that just a year ago I would have been one of those really fat people I was staring at on the beach the other day. I’m not that person now. I am ‘normal’. I can walk into Dotty P’s, choose a couple of dresses and like the way I look in them, I can feel vaguely confident I look nice and I’m not so negative about myself. I’ve come a long way.

PS Where has this week gone?! I haven’t blogged once! Must do better.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2010 8:55 am

    Argh. Don’t get me started on fat kids. I once got a really shitty comment on my blog when I said I was sick of going to the local shopping centre at 10am and seeing kids in buggies stuffing themselves with wotsits and ice creams. But it’s true! What are these people thinking?!

    Glad you’re getting some use out of the cookbook by the way x

  2. Eileenhaveron permalink
    May 27, 2010 8:57 am

    My dear lady, you’re doing really well. And I’m liking the clothes haul.
    Much love xx

  3. May 31, 2010 1:38 pm

    Even though I’m no feather weight myself, I don’t get y people can’t cover up when they have a little too much…..gross. If you want to show it, lose a little first.

Trackbacks

  1. PlayPennies Loves…’Not Such A Yummy Mummy’ | PlayPennies

Leave a Reply

