Skip to content

It’s a man’s world

June 1, 2010

To do list for the Bank Holiday weekend:

Clean & clear out 4 kitchen cupboards, including the manky ones under the sink

Re-pot fruit & veg

Plant carrots/onions/lavender

Minimum of 3 loads of washing

Ironing

Clean oven

Clear bookcase in bedroom

Write learning log/CV/development guide  for uni

Bake cookies for BBQ

Attend BBQ

Clean out fridge

Make pastry for the first time in years, make pie

Organise 6 months of paperwork & file it in Very Important Document (VID) File

Wash & valet car

Do food shopping

Buy birthday present for Dad

Take Sam for new shoes

Around 12 noon on Sunday, during Sam’s nap,  when I was approximately a third of my way through my list, my useless husband (who had been watching 3 episodes of Spartacus)  sauntered into the kitchen where I was simultaneously shaping cookies, putting a wash on, reading instructions on how to sew carrot seeds and filling up the sink with washing up and said ‘I hate Sundays, there’s nothing to do.’

He did escape with his life. Just.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2010 1:20 pm

    Lol – drives me mental too. Seems the men can choose to do this stuff, and when they do they are helping us?? I get really weighed under sometimes with the list of things that I HAVE to do and the hubby can opt in and out of.

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      June 2, 2010 8:04 am

      Too right! And when they do do something they expect us to get the dancing girls out, praise them hugely and not make them do anything else for months!

  2. June 1, 2010 1:54 pm

    I know the feeling. I am glad mine has got into gardening in a big way so at least he is now usually doing something useful (well unless it’s raining.)

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      June 2, 2010 8:05 am

      I’d love my husband to be into gardening! We have a wasteground 😦

  3. June 1, 2010 3:16 pm

    I used to do the martyr thing, until i realized that men will not pick up on their own what needs to be done and subtle is lost on them.

    Now there is a to do list for the rest of the family not just for me.

    You should adopt that technique. 🙂

    *Hey why are throwing things at me?

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      June 2, 2010 8:06 am

      I should do something. Most of the time he’s pretty good but this weekend all he wanted to do was watch TV where as I was raring to go! Next time, I will not play the martyr!

  4. June 2, 2010 6:52 am

    Hehehe….my husband’s better than most (at least that’s what I think), but I still feel guilty when he helps out coz I have to usually ask him….it took me a while to train him, and he’s still only about 50% of the way there…I guess what we all hate is that with the wife it’s ‘her duty’ and with the husband ‘he’s helping’

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      June 2, 2010 8:07 am

      My Mum always tells me that you don’t properly break a man in until around your 10th anniversary. After that you can pretty much make them do anything. Maybe we break them then!

  5. June 2, 2010 10:54 pm

    You should train him better. A biscuit on his nose for every task completed.

Trackbacks

  1. PlayPennies Loves…’Not Such A Yummy Mummy’ | PlayPennies

Leave a comment