Skip to content

Shame yourself slim #6

June 10, 2010

 

 

There’s something about hot, sunny Saturdays that make me want to sit in a garden with friends having a BBQ. So that’s what we did this weekend. I am of course blaming them for any weight gain this week as they shamelessly forced 2 bottles of champagne and half a small bottle of vodka down my neck. At  the time I thought I was being very good and only ate a small chicken breast and 2 mini minted lamb kebabs. Ah, the benefit of hindsight. Of course what I should have done was eat a shit load of burgers to soak up the alcohol (what I really should have done was not drink but where’s the fun in that?) but I didn’t and my god did I pay for it on Sunday. Sam was thankfully staying at my parents so I could wallow in my hangover at my leisure if I so wanted. But I couldn’t. I woke up at 10am with a Caribbean band drumming in my head and nausea that could not be assuaged by my usual hangover cure of cigarettes and diet coke. I was rough as nuts. After 4 paracetamol, 2 cans of coke, a bottle of water and 40 minutes of sitting on the sofa willing myself not to vomit I went back to bed where I remained in a semi slumber until 1pm. Thank god I did because I got feeling great. Loads of energy, no nausea, no headache. We went shopping, picked up Sam and went for a curry with my parents (it was my Dad & Craig’s birthday over the weekend). Champagne hangovers are the worst of the worst and it reinforces this week’s decision to dramatically reduce my alcohol intake.

I drink too much. I never drink during the week (what’s the point if I can’t get drunk?) but at weekends I go a bit mad and usually end up on my arse, whether or not I’ve actually been out or just stayed in. The hangovers get worse as I get older and I can’t function with one which means all the cleaning I should do at weekend doesn’t get done making my stressed through the week as I try to keep on top of everything. I’m going to restrict myself to 3 drinks when I’m at home and 6/7 when I’m out. No doubles. If I’m drinking wine that is reduced to 4 glasses. Hopefully this will help the little spider veins appearing on my face (WTF? I’m not an alkie, sod off!), my weight, the cleanliness of my house, my bank balance and my ability to be cheerful on a Sunday.

Did my excess have an impact on my weight though? Quite probably. I am now weighing in at 12 stone 13.5lbs! I am finally under 13 stone but haven’t stormed into the realm of ‘12’ with a marching band, dancing girls and streamers like I wanted, more with a whimper and a groan. Whatever, I’m under so it’s all good. I strongly suspect it would have been more if I hadn’t have baked cookies last night and accidently ate 5. Bollocks.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2010 1:54 pm

    there is NOTHING worse than a champagne hangover. I shared a stag/hen wtih my hubby – we each had the Friday night with respective friends and then had a joint party on the Saturday. However, I drank so much champagne with the girls on Friday, Saturday was a complete wipeout. I couldn;t even enjoy the day in the spa I was so afraid of vommiting. Not good. The new plan sounds good. Good luck!

  2. June 12, 2010 6:55 am

    Glad you got some of the recognition you deserve. Maybe you can put up a copy here (for those of us who are not in your vicinity) for us to appreciate 🙂

  3. June 12, 2010 6:57 am

    Oops, sorry the previous comment was for your next entry (confusing)

    I normally drink too much on family weekends (not my side, my husband’s), with friends it’s almost nil alcohol….now that I think about it this is weird…….need to figure out why

Leave a Reply

