Skip to content

5 songs I shouldn’t like but do anyway

June 14, 2010

I was reading the wonderful Babyrambles blog the other day when I came across her post of the same title. She invited anyone who fancied it to list their 5 songs, so here are mine! It’s quiet widely known that I have piss poor taste in music. None of this modern Kaiser Chiefs and Scouting for Girls for me. Oh no. I listen to Radio 1 going to & from work but whenever they stop talking and put music on I click on my musicals CD. But of course, musicals are a whole other post

This was a killer to choose, seriously most people would say the majority of the songs I like should be on this post but I could only choose 5, and these are the ones that always make people go ‘You’re joking, right?’  I would like to point out that I may have crap taste in music but Craig loves Westlife – I’m not that bad.

Jason Donovan – Too many broken hearts

This was a difficult one! I love so many Jason songs but this, along with ‘When you come back to me’ are my two favourites. I have the Best of Jason Donovan CD in my car & I bloody love it!! I was given a huge, framed photo of him for my 9th birthday and I kissed it every night before I went to bed. *sigh* He was lovely….

Jimmy Nail – Crocodile Shoes.

Another toughy. I’m a huge Jimmy Nail fan and have all his albums. My favourites though are Crocodile Shoes 1&2. If you haven’t heard them, you really should. They’re fabulous. he has a wonderful voice and yes, I do find him incredibly attractive. No, no one even understands why, but I really would 🙂 My Dad took me to see him for my 17th birthday. Best birthday present ever. Fact. (You should also check out Big River – a gorgeous song about the decline of industry on the Tyne).

Dolly Parton – Jolene.

I love Dolly. Her songs make me happy and although I can’t sing for toffee it hasn’t stopped me murdering this on karaoke a number of times. It reminds me of happy days, lots of cocktails and drinking so much I cry for no reason.

Nakatomi – Children of the Night. A classic! I remember dancing to this every Friday night in Henry Afrikas in Oldham. I was very under age, very skimpily dressed and very drunk. Good times.

Neil Diamond – Robert E Lee.  I’m a big, big fan of Neil Diamond and The Jazz Singer especially. I played the tape of this in the 6th Form Common room for as long as I was allowed. It pretty much got this this song (if I was lucky) before it was thrown across the room. I know many people from school will remember this song with happy memories 🙂 Louise, Eileen, Karen? You loved it!

You Tube, incredibly, doesn’t have the original of this song so this is a mediocre version from a pretty poor impersonator. Sorry!

So, what dirty musical secrets do you have? I could have gone on forever!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2010 1:37 pm

    ha ha Loving those song choices. I am a secret Jason Donovan fan too. I have a hilarious photo of me and him from one of those photo booths that inserts your photo next to a celeb so it looks like you are friends. He is all tanned and gorgeous looking. I am pasty faced and sporting a very 80’s corkscrew perm. Not a good look! Thanks for the lovely comments about my bibs! I do have a load half made in some fab new fabrics. Will try and finish them and get them onto folksy soon. Any particular favourites you liked?

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      June 16, 2010 8:03 pm

      I can’t remember which I liked, just that I knew I HAD to buy some! I’ll keep checking Folksy to see what you’ve made (I haven’t seen a fabric on your blog I don’t like, you have great taste) and grab some quick! There’s 2 boys & 2 surprises coming so I think I’ll buy the boy ones first and then see what else arrives!

  2. June 14, 2010 2:02 pm

    Thanks for taking this up! I was such a Jason Donovan fan and had his album Ten Good Reasons. Great choice. I love Dolly Parton’s Jolene too, I try to sing it in a squeaky voice. Children of the Night very cheesy! Less sure about Jimmy Nail and Neil Diamond though, but they’re songs you shouldn’t really like anyway so they’re okay!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      June 16, 2010 8:03 pm

      I have been told plenty of time I shouldn’t like them but I just can’t help myself! I really enjoyed doing this so thanks for posting yours!

  3. June 16, 2010 1:17 pm

    How could you overlook Sweet Caroline by Neil Diamond? A true classic ;o)

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      June 16, 2010 8:04 pm

      That’s the point though, it’s too good to be on this list! I think it is anyway. Robert E Lee is definitely now a classic!

Leave a Reply

