Skip to content

Writing Workshop – Found

July 29, 2010

I’m laughing with friends, enjoying a chilled glass of rose wine and am resting my hand on my handsome husband’s leg. It’s not the first glass of wine by a lot shot, more like the sixth or seventh. I’m not worrying about the cost today though. I’m wearing one of my favourite dresses, my favouite shoes, a gown and a mortar board. The pride on mine and my husband’s face is apparent. Finally, after four long years I’ve graduated and this is a time for true celebration.

We all chat about the sacrifices we’ve made, husbands laughing about all the evenings and weekends they’ve felt like single dads as mum studies hard, trying to better herself for the good of the family and for herself. Showing she’s not just a mum but an intelligent woman who strives hard for more.

My friends and I laugh about useless tutors, handsome tutors, helpful tutors and the head of department whom one just almost kissed on the lips by accident! We can laugh now because we’re done.

I twiddle my favourite bright green bracelets and smooth my dress over my slimmer thighs. I get up and go outside for a cigarette and to call my Mum. Sam is fine, giggling away with my Grandma. My Mum reiterates how proud they all are and my heart swells. I made them proud!

My son is happy, my family is proud, my husband is laughing away with people he’s only just met and instantly gets on with. I slip away to the toilets and look in the mirror.

In my lovely dress, sky high heels, made up face (flushed with alcohol!), friends just outside, mortar board slightly askew I feel like me again. After all this time, the study, the diet, the late nights and early mornings, the birth, the baby, the toddler and everything else I feel like ME. Not mummy, not wife, not daughter, not employee, not student. I’m confident, happy and having fun. Like Emma used to be.  I’ve found myself again and I feel happy. Finally.  

This is for the Sleep is for the Weak Writing Workshop. Prompt 5 – Found.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2010 4:15 pm

    Congratulations! And you should be proud, it sounds like you’ve put a lot of work in!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      August 2, 2010 8:18 am

      Thank you. It was so hard! But all worth it in the end!

  2. July 29, 2010 6:43 pm

    What a great moment that must have been! You have ever reason to be proud of yourself for all that you have found.

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      August 2, 2010 8:18 am

      It was, and I am!!

  3. July 29, 2010 6:49 pm

    Congratulations! You must be soo happy to have finished. My husband just finished his degree and I’m incredibly proud of him, so I can understand your husband and family’s feelings – it’s such a huge accomplishment, one you should be proud of.

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      August 2, 2010 8:16 am

      That’s fantastic! He must have worked so hard, I’m not surprised you’re proud! It has been tough but it was so worth it. And although it does feel a bit like I’m blowing my own trumpet, I am rather proud of myself!

  4. July 29, 2010 8:09 pm

    yes a truly fantastic moment! and well done for achieving what you wanted to… so brilliant! x

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      August 2, 2010 8:14 am

      Thanks! It felt fabulous!

  5. July 30, 2010 5:03 am

    Hi, I’m a mum studying for a degree too. I hope to graduate in December. Well done.

    Stopping by from Josie’s. I did the workshop too. http://greatttt.wordpress.com/2010/07/29/awtew/

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      August 2, 2010 8:07 am

      I will stop by & have a read! Thanks for reading my post & good luck to you. You’re on the home stretch now!

  6. July 30, 2010 7:05 am

    well done oyu – you;ve every right to be proud of such an achevement. Despte the fact that being a mum has transformed my life for better, it does take a few external things every so often to make us feel good too – and there’s no shame in that. Hope the hangocer wasn’t too awful!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      August 2, 2010 8:06 am

      It was baaaad! I really shouldn’t drink so much wine! It did feel good not to be mummy for a while though so it was worth it.

  7. August 1, 2010 10:30 am

    Congratulations and a wonderfully written post. We give so much of ourselves that it’s all too easy to lose ourselves along the way from time to time (I know myself…). All the best for the future

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      August 2, 2010 8:05 am

      Thank you, that’s very kind. 🙂

Leave a Reply

