Skip to content

100 book challenge – 21 to 25

August 1, 2010

My name is Emma & I’m a bookaholic. This challenge has made me more obsessed than ever with reading. I’m finding new authors, new genres and thoroughly enjoying it! There are not enough hours in the day for me to read as much as I want. I’m doing well with the challenge even with time restrictions. Our recent holiday in Skegness and my very accomodating family gave me plenty of time to curl up with my books and in a week I read 5! Of course I didn’t get a huge amount of sleep because I thought reading was far more important. I’m actually now up to book 60 but have only blogged about the first 20, so I better crack on!

21.  Karen Quinn – The Ivy Chronicles

I’m not sure how I came about this book, in the library I think but I was quite pleased I found it. I wasn’t overly entralled with the story (posh kids getting into private school, being coached by our ‘heroine’) but I enjoyed the author’s style of writing and thought she was very funny. I can’t rave about this one but I am definitely going to try some of Karen Quinn’s other books.

22. Dustin Diamond – Behind the Bell

My boss lent me this as we’d spoken about this book before. Mainly pissing ourselves laughing about Saved by the Bell and how much we’d loved it. Having seen Dustin Diamond on TV a few months ago, some crappy American wrestling reality show, I wasn’t too surprised by the language in the book. What I was surprised about was what a complete and utter cock he is! Oh my god. He is so up his own arse its untrue! He thinks he’s some kind of god’s gift for women and goes on and on about sleeping with fans of the show when he was a teen. He drove me insane and I was glad to finish it! What a knob.

23. Bill Bryson – A Walk in the Woods

Bill Bryson is hands down the best thing to come out of this challenge so far and you will see his books popping up frequently over the next few months. Having adored The Short History of Nearly Everything I thought I’d try his others. I have read reviews of this book saying it’s Bryson’s worst and having compared it to a few more I’ve since read I have to agree! Sorry but it’s aint all that! Of course it is Bill Bryson so it’s witty, full of wonderful observations and beautifully written but again I wasn’t enthralled by his story of walking the Appalachian Trail. Don’t dismiss it though, it was reasonably entertaining.

24. Stieg Larsson – The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

I was intrigued by the hype and publicity that came with the Millenium Trilogy and was told they were a must read. They were right! I loved this book. I won’t ruin it if you haven’t read it yet but over the entire trilogy I was facinated by how the author wove the tale, interlocking so many stories and details seamlessly. I love murder mysteries at the best of times but (at the risk of sounding like a bit of a cock) this took it to another level. Sooo….

25. Stieg Larsson – The Girl who played with Fire.

…I read the next one straight away! Just as well written, even more intriguing with a cliff hamger ending that made me desperate for the final book. Which of course I couldn’t get hold of for a few weeks. Dammit!

Links/pictures courtesy of Amazon

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2010 10:13 am

    what a great idea – I’ve been off the blogosphere for a while so haven’t caught up with the earlier ones yet – loved the Steg larsoon books too. Am due in 7 weeks so have been collecting a delicious pile of books for those midnight, feeding reads – my favourite time of breastfeeding. I can remember the books from each of my babies – there is something magical about being the only one up at 2am, reading an amazing book and feeding your newborn baby. all is well with the world. any recommendations?

  2. August 1, 2010 8:38 pm

    Mmmm books books books. I thought the Millenium Trilogy was very entertaining, too.

Leave a Reply

