Skip to content

No man is an island (unless his name is Madagascar)

August 12, 2010

I am a worry wort. Although I worry about pretty much everything I obviously worry most about Sam. Having gone back to work full time when Sam was just 6 months old I don’t feel I’ve had a huge influence into his life so far. I worry that I’m not teaching him all the things I should be teaching him.  

Over the last couple of weeks I’ve realised it doesn’t matter if I’m not teaching him much because everyone else who loves him is. His Nana & Grandad (my in laws) look after Sam 4 mornings a week and Craig has him the rest of the time. Recently something about Sam’s speech has begun to click – he must have known I was worrying about that too! One night last week when I came home from work he very quietly, shyly but with a big grin on his face recited numbers 1 to 10! My genius boy! Craig’s smile was almost as big as Sam’s! For weeks he’d been counting as they walked upstairs, played with blocks, ate individual beans until Sam was able to say it himself. He does quite often miss 1, 6 and 7 but I’ll live with that! Craig has taught him to feed himself, recognise letters, sing a bit of the alphabet, name most of the characters from Peppa Pig (not sure about that one!), kick a ball and is helping install in him a love of books.

My in laws are also having a huge impact on Sam’s development. He now understand plurals – ‘2 buses mummy’, can name almost every item in the kitchen (miwowave, kekkle, kink, fwidge, fweezer), climbs down the stairs on his own and is better at walking and running as they go for a walk every day. His social skills are improving too as they are always out and about.

 When my parents have Sam for a weekend he always comes home with new words, recently worms, wiggly, pease (please), agetti (spaghetti), mato (tomato) and butter have been added to his now impressive vocabulary.

So you see, I didn’t have to worry about Sam. There’s so many people who love him, care for him and help him develop that I can just enjoy his new skills when I come home from work. No man is an island and my name isn’t Madagascar. I’m not on my own with this & although sometimes I think I should be the one teaching him all this I’ve had to realise I’m not. The input and help from family and friends is bringing him on a treat. He starts playgroup 3 mornings a week next month and I cannot wait to see what that does for him. Playing with children his own age and making crafts is going to be fabulous for him.

I never realised how exciting it would be raising a child and it’s only going to get better. 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Notsuchayummymummy'smum permalink
    August 13, 2010 12:44 am

    It’s a mum thing… we all think we don’t do it right. I worked nights and evening when my daughters were young. I was lucky that in my job I could do that. When they were older I resumed my career and worked full time on days. I am a nurse and then those opportunities were more easily available. But I always worried..was I doing it right. But you know what, I look at my daughters now young women and whether I did or not they are wonderful. Sam is such a well adjusted little boy and so used to going to stay with either set of grandparents. But you know what…the influence that both mummy and daddy have is equal because that is how it should be and in this case is. Don’t be so hard on yourself notsuchayummymummy Sam adores you and your influence shines via Craig.
    Mums are not just mums to their children but in my view are to some extent mums to their partners and this influence is passed to the children.
    Who teaches daddys to be good?… the mummmys and don’t you young women forget it.
    Notsuchayummymummy’s mum xxx

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      August 13, 2010 10:37 pm

      My very wise mum there folks. Isn’t she fab! x

  2. August 14, 2010 12:18 am

    Awww your Mum is very wise and wether we realise it or not they do take such a lot from us. You are doing a great job!

Leave a Reply

