Skip to content

My blogaversary giveaway

August 24, 2010

It’s been one whole year today since I set up shop in my own space in the blogosphere. And what a year it has been. I’ve been paid for posts, been invited to some amazing events (although haven’t actually been able to attend any yet – keep the invites coming though, one day that may not clash with a vital meeting!) and met fabulous people. Twitter has been a revelation. Although I’d had an account for a while it was only when I started blogging that I really understood what it was all about. I feel like part of a community and that my friendship base has grown massively! I do hope to meet all the people I have communicated with over the past 12 months and hope that if Cybermummy does happen again next year I’ll be able to overcome my confidence issues and attend.

 When I set up the blog & named it, and myself,  ‘Not such a yummy mummy’ it wasn’t totally about my appearance. Obviously dieting and my ongoing battle with my weight is a big part of this blog but to me, being a yummy mummy is so much more than what you look like. Being yummy is about how you feel inside, how happy and content you are. 12 months ago being happy and content was a distant dream. I was struggling to cope with work, uni, my ridiculously fat arse, marriage and motherhood. In hindsight committing to blogging with all that entails may not have been my best idea but it’s worked for me. With support from the blogging community as well as my own family & friends I have lost nearly 4 stone, completed my PostGrad Diploma, become more confident (although we’re still working on that one), started growing vegetables, cooked some fabulous recipes and been inspired by some truly amazing women. And I’ve had free therapy from moaning, bitching and whinging about all of it on my blog. I feel like a yummier mummy. I’m not quite where I want to be yet but I will be soon enough.

 I’ve recently found a book that will help me on that final push to becoming that yummy mummy. It’s not often (if ever) that I say a book has changed my life but his book has opened my eyes and is helping me be a happier, yummier mummy.

The Fabulous Mother’s Handbook by Grace Saunders is just wonderful. It’s filled with tips, hints and stories from other mums who have been where we all are. Their advice is working wonders. With chapters on how to handle babies, young children, your wardrobe, marriage and sex life it’s got everything covered. I initially borrowed it from the library but enjoyed it so much I bought a copy of my own to keep dipping into. This book doesn’t have all the answers but has helped me on my way to becoming more organised, tidier, less stressed (by being tidier) and has stopped me being quite so hard on myself. So what if Sam isn’t eating home cooked, organic, fresh meals 7 days a week? I work full time and if I ever want to sleep I’ll have to live with giving him pasta, chicken nuggets and spaghetti shapes sometimes (not at the same time though, that would be mean). It’s also helped me to realise that just because my marriage has changed it doesn’t mean it’s changed for the worse. I’ve found it so difficult to have quality time with my husband but little things that that author has suggested has helped us to grab time here and there which has helped us to reconnect and get to know each other without the labels of mummy & daddy.

So if you want a copy of this fabulous book and a big bar of Galaxy to enjoy whist reading it just leave me a comment below and in a week’s time (31st August) Sam will pick a name out of a hat.

Maybe next year’s blogaversary post will be my tips on being and staying a yummy mummy. We can all dream!

(This is not a sponsored post, the prizes are from me)

15 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2010 9:01 am

    Well done on making it for a whole year. I would love the chocolate!!

  2. Claire permalink
    August 24, 2010 9:16 pm

    Aww.. think I will be getting the book out of the library for myself it sounds inspiring.. I can relate to the journey you are making and it is really nice to share your trials and tribulations. Its refreshing… And how strange that we randomly got talking in Congleton and it turned out we were a year apart at the same school in Oldham! Small World!

  3. August 25, 2010 10:02 am

    Chocolate nom nom! Wow I’m amazed I dont have this book! Sounds great!

    Well done on reaching a year! 😀 x

  4. queeneileen permalink
    August 26, 2010 9:56 pm

    Meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee please. And you, Claire-lady, you were in the year below me too 😀

    And YOU, NSAYM-lady, hope the iPhone is everything you dreamed of and more 😀

  5. LeahD permalink
    August 27, 2010 8:28 am

    Me too please, I’m a big book & chocolate fan!! Also totally relate to what you say, I felt hideous and just not myself at all when I first had my daughter. It took a long, long time (she’s nearly 3 in November) but now I’m feeling great – maybe even better than I did before! I think it just takes time and having a baby is a big shock re. your life, career, figure, everything but oh my goodness so worth the disruption! 🙂 xx

  6. August 27, 2010 5:37 pm

    Happy Blogversary hun!! We are all super proud of you x

  7. August 27, 2010 5:37 pm

    Happy Blogaversary! Book + chocolate = happy mummy!
    Di x

  8. August 27, 2010 5:41 pm

    Congratulations on making it to a year, and on the achievements you’ve made along the way.

  9. jenny permalink
    August 28, 2010 7:23 pm

    The book sounds great and I could always eat a bar of choc 🙂

  10. August 29, 2010 12:43 pm

    I have read the follow up book to this which is kinda targetted at second or third time mums (which I’m not… yet) so it’d be great to read the original.

  11. August 30, 2010 9:10 pm

    Its very satisfying reaching 1 year isnt it? Sadly, I forgot my anniversary.

  12. Robyn Clarke permalink
    August 30, 2010 10:54 pm

    Congrats on a year of blogging!

  13. August 31, 2010 12:11 pm

    Congratulations, how wonderful. You have come a long way and it’s been inspiring to read about your journey.

    On a selfish note, is it too late for me to register for the give away. It sounds real interesting. I should let you know I don’t live on the same continent.

  14. notsuchayummymummy permalink*
    September 2, 2010 8:05 am

    nmaha – it’s not too late. Your comment was posted on 31st so you’re in! Sam is not up for picking names out of a hat so I will use a random number generator. A blog post will be up at lunch announcing the winner!
    Thanks for for your kind comments.

  15. September 6, 2010 9:29 pm

    Happy blog-versary!

    Sorry I’m a bit late but I’ve loved discovering your blog

Leave a Reply

