Skip to content

One of those months…

October 14, 2010

Do you ever have a month when everything seems to go wrong? Well September was that month for us. Due to extenuating circumstances (Sam needing a new wardrobe after he unexpected grew out of everything he owned, except his shoes – he has been the same size for 4 months now, not normal) we started off the month totally skint. This wasn’t helped by birthdays, unexpected bills and my car failing it’s MOT for the 4th year running. I’ve only had the damn thing 4 years. If it passed I think I’d drop dead of shock. My Grandma has now been diagnosed with a DVT and is worrying herself sick. My sister has announced her pregnancy – yay!! However this does mean saving a minimum of £1000 for flights to Oz & a discussion on if I’m going alone, with Sam or if we’re going as a family (That’ll be £3000 to save then. Gulp). Add in a couple of Sam incidents – biting almost all the way through his tongue resulting in tears and hysteria (from Craig too), falling off the sofa onto his head (heart stopping moment when he didn’t move) and I am almost ready to run away and hide.

Then the bloody dog goes off his food. He cries when eating anything, his mouth is swollen and he is not his usual self. We’ve been here before a couple of years ago. He needed 12 teeth out and it cost us an absolute fortune. The last thing we needed right now. Of course we really didn’t need a poorly dog either. So off we trotted, got a quote of £300+ for removing 4 rotten teeth (general anaesthetics for dogs are not cheap apparently, especially when he’s 14) and tried to work out whether to put an old dog through a big operation.  Well of course we did. Sunny & Sam are very close and I couldn’t take him away from Sam just yet.

Plus, how can you put a dog down because of his teeth? It’s ridiculous! Thank god for pet insurance. After the last op he had we decided we couldn’t do without it and got Sunny covered. Without it it really would have been the straw that broke the camel’s back. Or at least the straw that sent the camel running to mummy & daddy camel begging for a handout. Which isn’t dignified for a 30 year old adult. Or a camel.

Lessons to be learnt from this: don’t buy a rubbish car. Get pet insurance. Don’t let your 2 year old climb on ANYTHING. My husband is useless in a blood related crisis.

(This is a sponsered post).

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2010 8:50 am

    I’m sorry you’re having a bad month. That sounds like too much for one person to deal with.

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      October 19, 2010 8:14 am

      It’s just everything at once! Things seem to be picking up a bit now – we got a new car to start with! And the poor dog seems much better now without all those pesky rotten teeth. Although we do have practically liquidise his food!

  2. October 15, 2010 1:51 pm

    Things can only get better! I still love your blog. It cracks me up. Even when I’m in class with a load of students doing an exam and I’m laughing out loud!
    No blogging for me at the moment. I tell myself life is too hectic but when I read your blog I know I have no excuse. We’re in Sicily now, teaching still. It’s lovely. Will be back at Christmas. Helen told me the news, I’m so pleased for her. Everything is coming together.
    Good luck with the saving, I know how much she would want you to be there!
    Love
    Danni
    x

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      October 19, 2010 8:17 am

      Hi Danni! We’ve booked the flights! I decided I was going to go by myself. We can’t afford for all 3 of us to go & it’s not practical for me to take Sam on a 24 hour flight alone. It was bad enough last time when there was 4 of us to look after him! Also at least this way I’ll get quality time with Helen & the baby. Now I’ve just got to pay my parents back for the flight! Ouch.
      You’re in Sicily? Oh wow, that must be gorgeous! I do keep popping on to your blog to see where you are & it’s been most frustrating missy! You know I live vicariously through you so you must at least post pictures! Glad you’re well though. xx

  3. October 15, 2010 5:12 pm

    Great post. I know it sohuldn’t but it made me laugh – the last bit. I had the same in September and did not know if I was coming or going. Thank goodness life is back to ‘normal’

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      October 19, 2010 8:18 am

      I’m glad things have picked up for you too. Just a couple of months to get straight before it’s the same all over again for Christmas! When will that lottery win come…

Leave a Reply

