Skip to content

My happy songs

October 26, 2010

So, I’ve not been having the best couple of months and have needed to cheer myself up quickly and cheaply. There’s no better way of doing that than with music. I’m not a music obsessive, I don’t have an iPod, can’t download music and have no idea what an MP3 is. I listen to CDs and the radio & that’s it. But I do love a good cheery song and these 5 are the ones I dig out whenever I’m feeling shitty. They are guaranteed to put a smile on my face, have me singing along and dancing around the house like a loon within the first few bars.

1. McAlmont & Butler – Yes.

Choon! I asked the Dj for this at our local on Saturday night and was dumbfounded when he said he didn’t have it. I told my friends and they said they have never heard of it! I put a plea on Facebook that I hadn’t made this up, it was a real song & was gratified when a number of people (included major music aficionado Sandy) said they remembered and loved it too. I was always going to love this duo – the Butler half is none other than Bernard Butler of Suede fame *swoon*

2. Kings of Leon – Sex on Fire

I can’t say I was overly bothered by this song when it first came out. It was fine, I bopped along in the car but since I went to the Real Radio 80’s night a couple of months ago this has fired into my all time Top 5 happy songs. ‘But it isn’t an 80’s song’ I hear you cry – no it isn’t but it was covered by ABC that night and they did it wonderfully! We were all pretty drunk by then (this was actually the last song I really remember which is a damn shame as Tony Hadley and Rick Astley came later. AND Peter Kay came onstage singing with them. I’m such a numpty) and we danced our little hearts out, jumped around and fell in the mud a lot. Fabulous. Now I’m actually contemplating getting this as my first ever download as I don’t have their CD.

3. Meatloaf – Bat out of Hell.

Maybe a strange one to have as one of my happy songs but I just adore Meatloaf. I turn this up full blast in the car and sing way too loudly, often much to the amusement of anyone driving next to me. I’m going seeing Meatloaf in December and I CANNOT WAIT!!!

4. The Wonder Stuff – The size of a cow

Another song from my way back when youth but one that has consistently made me happy for the last 20 years. I love this. I’ve danced to it aged 16 in indie clubs and shut the office door and danced quietly to it at work in the last few weeks. I’ve even tweeted about it so I know just how much everyone else likes it too. A classic.

5. Now this was difficult – the top 4 really stand out for me as my happy songs but my fifth could have been one of many. After rejecting another couple of Meatloaf, a lot of early Oasis, Blur, Suede (god I love them), Housemartins, Boo Radleys, all of Green Day’s 3 first albums and a whole lot of Dolly Parton I decided on this one.

I love this song and this remix especially. It reminds me of being in a club in China with my friends, dancing a really silly dance routine and falling about drunk  laughing. So much fun! I loved living in China and this really takes me back there and makes me laugh at all the things we got up to.

So what songs can turn your frown upside down?

Photo credit

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2010 9:09 am

    Laid by James. Brilliant stuff!

  2. October 26, 2010 9:12 am

    I know what you mean about music changing your moods. I started to write down a list of songs that made me feel better a while ago but kept forgetting about it. I love your choice of songs. I have heard of the 1st one OK, but The Wonder Stuff I’m not sure of, it rings a few bells! The last vid wouldn’t play, but I know the song & it is great!!

  3. October 26, 2010 10:32 pm

    Thanks for calling me a major music aficionado 🙂 ‘Yes’ is a classic!

  4. naomi permalink
    October 27, 2010 8:36 am

    Music is great. In our house its Abba – and we sing at the top our voices. For me a bit of Dirty Dancing cheers me up!

Leave a Reply

