Skip to content

Happy New Year!

December 31, 2010

2010 has been a great year. I completed my post grad diploma in HRM, finally qualifying after 4 long years. I lost a whole load of weight (and only put 1/4 of it back on again). Sam grew from a baby into a funny toddler obsessed (currently) with playing my old recorder, his new kitchen, Peppa Pig, talking, singing and dancing. My sister announced her first pregnancy and I booked to fly out to Oz to see her in 22 weeks, 5 days (ish, ahem). My Mum retired! Go Mum! My Dad’s business got through another year (no mean feat for a cafe/deli in these economically bolloxed times). My Grandma recovered from a DVT and other illnesses and has come out of it stronger than ever. My best friend Louise and sister in law, Shelley had beautiful, beautiful babies! I read over 100 books in a year! I didn’t kill my husband and the number of times I considered were well down on the year before. Result. This blog really took off (maybe not to some but I’m thrilled!). I had PR opportunities, reviews, competitions, sponsored posts from the likes of Dominos, Appliances Online, Tesco, Molly Brown London , Kelloggs and Little One’s Clothing to name just a few.

Yes, a good year.

So, 2011. I’m not really one for making New Year’s Resolutions as such. I am just hoping to do a few things next year that I haven’t been able to do this year.

– Lose more weight (preferably 2 stone before I fly out to Australia in June). Although I have finished the review for Thinking Slimmer I’m still using it and it’s still working for me so I’m carrying on with that & hoping for the best!

– Find a new job. I love my job, colleagues and company but after nearly 7 years I think it’s time to move onwards and upwards, especially after qualifying. There’s no rush but by the end of the year I’d like to be in a new, more senior position.

– Make more chutney. I really enjoyed getting to grips with jams, chutney and preserves this year and after I was given a shit hot new food processor for Christmas & don’t have to spend hours chopping things up anymore, I have no excuse!

– Be a bit more organised. It’s hard working full time, having a toddler and trying to fit in time for everyone never myself yourself but an hour a week organising paperwork and Sam’s toys/clothes he’s outgrown really won’t kill me.

– Bake more bread. And cakes. Why the hell not 🙂 Sam can help too. He’s really into his new toy kitchen and I bought him an apron and his own baking set so he needs to get into it. I’m hoping he’ll become a famous chef in a few years time (but not a new Jamie Oliver, oh no).

And the little ones, laugh every day, never forget to tell my boys that I love them, appreciate family time, be more supportive to my friends, banish oven chips from the house (easier now I’ve got a new deep fat fryer and am going to learn how to make fresh chips, yay!) and clean more.

I would also very much like to buy my own domain and self host this blog but although I just wrote that I’m not entirely sure what it means! I just know I would like to do fancier things to it and have CommentLuv. It’s the small things for me.

Happy New Year everyone. I hope it’s filled with health, wealth, happiness, hugs, kisses and fluffy things. Oh and mojitos, everyone should have mojitos in their life.

xxxxx

Picture credit

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

