Skip to content

100 book challenge, 2011

January 2, 2011

A new year, a new book challenge. I thoroughly enjoyed doing the 100 book challenge in 2010 and actually I exceeded the challange slightly and read 102 books. I have a feeling it won’t be so easy this year. Yes, having finished my post grad diploma I don’t have that distraction/exams/dissertation but I have decided that this year I’m not going to choose the books. Instead I am going to read the BBC’s The Big Read Top 100 books.

I don’t doubt for a minute this will be difficult. Just have a look at the list! There’s quite a few books on there I know I should have read but just don’t fancy, despite people raving about them (Birdsong, Captain Corelli’s Mandolin) and there’s also some that scare the bejaysus out of me (War & Peace). There one there I actually loathe – Bleak House – thanks to my A level in English Lit and some I adore (Harry Potters, any by Jane Austen) so it should be an interesting year. I have read quite a few books on the list already but will be re-reading them.  

I’m a bit confused on one point though & would love to know what you think – is Lord of the Rings just the first one , or the trilogy? I think I know it’s the first one but it defies logic that they should put one book out of three on there and I’m all confused about it!

I’m not going to read them in any order (but I will put there position when I blog about them), it really depends on what the library can get in for me when I need them. I starting with an easy Harry Potter then I think I’m going to tackle a couple of the harder ones.

Please let me know which books on here you like – I would love to know your thoughts on these and the list in general. Are there some on there that you think shouldn’t be? Or have they left out an absolute classic?

Enough blogging, I have a shit load of books to read and only a year to do it in! Wish me luck!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2011 8:56 am

    Lord of the Rings is actually only one book – it’s huge!! They just split it into 3 films.

    Good luck!!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      January 4, 2011 1:36 pm

      Aha! I have read it before but it was spilt into 3 books aswell, hence the confusion. Oh my goodness, this is getting harder & harder!

  2. January 2, 2011 10:34 am

    I don’t know how you did the 100+ books last year, it takes me about 2 weeks to read a book! I am going to try to read as much of the BBC list as I can (though probably not just in 1 year) but I’m not going to be strict with it, just choose what I fancy! Good luck xx

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      January 4, 2011 1:37 pm

      Let me know how you get one & what’s good (or not!). I’ll be blogging every 5 books or so & saying what I thought of them so you know what to avoid! 4 days in & I can safely say War & Peace is not an easy option!

  3. January 2, 2011 11:27 pm

    Captain Corelli is an easy read – that won’t be any trouble at all. I think The Lord of the Rings should be all three books, but when I tried I gave up after 1 1/2. I think you have set yourself a great challenge! I’m sure you’ll have already read quite a few as well. Will you skip them or reread them? It will be interesting to see how you go.

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      January 4, 2011 1:39 pm

      I have read about 20 of them but will re-read them. I think they’ll be my easy books for reading after I’ve done a hard one. I’ve started War & Peace first so after this I might do a couple of Harry Potter’s before I start Crime & Punishment. I think I’ve bitten off more than I can chew with this one though.

Trackbacks

  1. Books I Should Have Read in High School | A Patchwork Life
  2. A Year Of Challenges « The Life of Shinke
  3. 7 things about me « Not such a Yummy Mummy's Blog
  4. 7 things about me « Not such a Yummy Mummy's Blog

Leave a Reply

