Skip to content

Weeeeeee!!!

January 4, 2011

So here we are, 2 weeks post Christmas and still in toy hell. The house is littered with empty boxes that I don’t want to throw away ‘just in case’. Just in case of what though I’m not sure. Probably in the hope that Sam tires of them and I get to declutter and give to charity. There doesn’t seem to be much hope of that though. I was almost glad to get back to work today to escape the incessant ‘Mummy, lets race (trains, cars)/cook (new toy kitchen) /paint (Aquadoodle)  /fly (Miss Rabbit’s helicopter) /chalk (easel) /go supermarket (shopping trolley and play food) etc  etc.

Also willing me back to work was the commencement of potty training. I thank all that is holy that I work full time and my mother in law and husband will be dealing with that little task. Today is Day 1 and by lunchtime (Craig was updating me by text) Sam had had 4 changes of clothes, the living room and stairs carpets were wet through and he was in tears (I’m not sure if this referred to Craig or Sam, I suspect both). He was back in nappies after lunch. We’ll (he’ll) try again tomorrow.

Does anyone have any tips for us? We’re not following anything prescriptive, just putting Sam in pants and taking him to the toilet a lot. He already asks to go to the toilet for a poo so we’re hoping this is the natural next step.

Any help would be greatly appreciated (by Craig, as I will be sat 10 miles away in a clean, dry, non wee smelling office).

P.S. Don’t feel too sorry for Craig going it alone with this. He is keeping all the washing to be done by me when I get home from a hard day at the office. Thanks!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Claire permalink
    January 5, 2011 1:39 am

    Honestly I would say leave it another month… if he is getting upset and having frequent accidents I would say he is not quite ready and perservering will make it more of a trauma than it needs to be. Assume you have potties upstairs and down? Asking him every 15 mins if he needs to go? Don’t bother getting him dressed… vest and pants is enough (even ditch the undies for the first few days so he is ready to sit and try at all times). Rewards in place for each successful wee? But really don’t be afraid to put it off a bit for the time being, try again in 6 weeks and take it from there. Good Luck! x

  2. January 5, 2011 10:22 pm

    I don’t know if you can leave it for a bit, but I made sure potty training happened outside, unless I was sure the child was 100% ready. A couple of accidents I can handle indoors, but too many and I cry. Or revert to nappies, obviously. Once it gets a little hotter (a few degrees will probably do), put him in a garden or park and let him play, designating a tree for him to pee against. It’s fun, it’s a bit naughty – it works.

    I have found though that if the child isn’t ready, the only thing that will nudge them in the right direction is good examples. Watching other children go on the potty (lots of them) makes them get the idea. Some kind of school or play area might help then. Just park him in the loos.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

