Skip to content

Reasons to be cheerful, 1,2,3!

January 7, 2011

I love this idea! I rarely look on the bright side of things, preferring to worry and moan instead. Not anymore! Even if things aren’t great I will find a bright side to them, even if’s a rather tenuous bright side!

Mummy from the heart has invited bloggers to share their 3 reasons to be cheerful every week. And dammit I’ll find things every week! Here we go…

  1. I hit a bollard this morning and the car wasn’t damaged! This is truly something to be cheerful about as it’s only 4 months old and I love her. She’s called Aurelia the Auris and I would be devastated if she was less than perfect. On the outside anyway, the inside is already filled with the detritus of a slovenly mum and messy toddler. I was hoping to keep this little accident quiet but my child (the parrot) will no doubt be repeating ‘Mummy bang car, uh oh, bang BANG!’ (as he said straight after) as soon as Craig picks him up.
  2. I’m not pregnant! I’ve slept through much of Christmas. Craig got up with Sam every day except one because I was so tired. He commented that the last time I was this tired was when I was pregnant. I laughed it off, until the next day when the heart burn started. Then I heard on the radio this week that hundreds of women had sued a company because they got pregnant whilst using the contraceptive implant, Implanon. Guess what contraceptive I’ve been using? I actually had the implant removed just before Christmas because it wasn’t agreeing with me but don’t  remember having a period though. Just a bit of spotting. And of course I then convinced myself it was breakthrough, implantation spotting. PANIC!!!  I am not ready, at all, in any way shape or form for another baby so I scuttled off to Asda this morning for diet coke (for my nerves) & a pregnancy test. I am pleased to report it was negative! The relief….
  3. Working. I know some people struggle with the guilt of working and having a little one but not me (well, not all the time). As well as starting potty training this week we’ve also hit the terrible twos. ‘No I am not…’, ‘I’m not sleepy at all’, ‘I won’t’ and ‘Leave me alone’ are the phrases echoing through our house this week. It’s like having a bloody teenager! Work is my way of relaxing!

Check out other blogger’s reasons to be cheerful here!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2011 7:03 pm

    What a good idea this is, I too tend to be very negative! So lucky that your car wasn’t damaged! I put a huge dent in my last new car within 2 months of getting it – yikes, cost a fortune to get repaired!

  2. January 7, 2011 9:55 pm

    It sounds as though congratulations are in order on all three! Best of luck with the toilet training x

  3. January 8, 2011 12:51 am

    I totally agree with you, work is my way of relaxin too. I am Mich at work and not Mum, it is great!

    Thanks so much for joining up and hope to see you again next week.

    Mich x

  4. January 8, 2011 1:28 pm

    Safe sex! And so glad your car isn’t damaged; more to the point, hope you were okay.

    Have a great weekend – and be careful!!

    CJ xx

  5. January 8, 2011 5:16 pm

    A great idea and I have joined in too, via Chrystal, nice to meet you.

  6. January 9, 2011 9:32 pm

    You have made me laugh and also think about 3 reasons to be cheerful – one of those is not to have to get out of bed tomorrow until 7.15am as my husband is going to get the kids up and ready for school – yeehaaa!

  7. January 9, 2011 11:27 pm

    I love your reasons to be cheerful.

  8. January 11, 2011 3:24 pm

    Great 3 reasons to be cheerful! Found you as a fellow linky poster on Michelle’s site, so popped over to say ‘hullo’. We’re going to start potty training in this house soon too – please post on your progress and tips!

Leave a Reply

