Skip to content

Well THAT was a busy couple of weeks…

January 20, 2011

I’m knackered! I feel like I’ve been running around like  headless chicken for the last fortnight, haven’t seen Sam, haven’t seen Craig and definitely have not kept up to date with my poor neglected blog!

What have I been doing I hear you ask (humour me)? Well you may have seen on twitter that I had a job interview last week. I had to do a 10 minute presentation so spent most of the week doing that. Nightmare! The presentation was pretty good but the rest of the interview was diabolical! Honestly, if they hire me then they’re as stupid as I came across in the interview. I should hear formally today or tomorrow but the fact that an agency contacted me about this ‘great opportunity with (company name)’ only yesterday kinda gives me the impression they’re back out to advert. I so love how organisations do that before telling the unsuccessful candidates. You’d expect better when they’re recruiting for a HR job. I can’t say I’m particularly gutted anyway as I didn’t get the best vibe from them & I’m still not sure I actually want to leave my lovely little employer anyway!

Which brings me on to this week’s mania. It was our work’s National Conference this week. Once a year the whole organisation (approx 300 people) get together at a hotel, watch presentations, lectures, have break out sessions, team building and the all important meal, entertainment and drinking session. This year my office were particularly hard core, necking the first 4 bottles of wine before the main course (there were 9 of us), the next 5 by the end of the dessert and another 4 during the entertainment before staggering into the bar to play strip pool (it seemed like a good idea at the time) and drink even more extortionately priced, rough-as-nuts vino. I really wish I could tell you which famous ex-Olympian was competing against us but my lips shall remained sealed 🙂 I eventually dragged myself to bed at 3.15am to get a small amount of shut eye before breakfast at 7.30am, a full day of conference starting at 8.30am all before a 4 hour drive home.  I finally got back at at 8pm utterly bolloxed. Never again (as I say every year).

I missed out on Wordless Wednesday as I was on the conference this week but did take a couple of pics for you. No, not of strip pool but sculptures from our team building exercise.

We were split into 3 groups and asked to make a clay sculpture of one of our organisation’s values which are Collaboration, Excellence and Innovation. Can you guess which is which? And what they are?

1.

2.

3.

No, you can’t guess? Neither could we!

Ok, 1 is a BMW representing Excellence. 2 is our company logo, a javelin thrower and the Olympic rings representing Collaboration and 3 is a brain with a mobile phone, laptop, apple (for Isaac Newton), space rocket (not a big cock) and car on it (you can’t see Einstein’s moustache at the back) representing Innovation! Innovation obviously won. I say obviously because it was my team! Yay us!

And that’s what I’ve been doing instead keeping up with you lovely people and writing posts that really need to be finished!

Oh, I also managed a night at a friend’s cocktail party where I drank so many mojitos I staggered the 200 yards home, fell in the back door, fell up the stairs, fell into the bathroom, threw up everywhere and woke up Sam. I am so classy.

Next on the agenda is a total detox and a trip to the home of Kelloggs tomorrow when I get to meet some other mummy bloggers! I am so nervous, I haven’t met any bloggers before but I’ve heard they don’t bite so I should be ok. More on that another time.

So, that’s my news, what have you been up to?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2011 5:29 pm

    Same old, same old. Oh, and finding enlightenment, then losing it. The usual.

  2. Naomi permalink
    January 25, 2011 7:41 pm

    It sounds likeyou have been having a great time. I doubt you missed out on anything. Keep living and enjoy the variety of work and blogging.

Leave a Reply

