Skip to content

Reasons to be cheerful, 1, 2, 3

February 4, 2011

I have many reasons not to be cheerful this week, the shitty weather, lack of money, tiredness due to my adorable son waking most nights & shouting for me (Mummy, I awake, get up now Mummy. Let’s do boogie), being busy at work and never finding enough time to blog. However, let’s keep in the spirit of things and find 3 things that are keeping me going today.

  1. We’re got a fab weekend ahead! My lovely mother in law & her husband are very kindly having Sam overnight for us tomorrow so we can have our first night out together since September! However, due to our lack of money we’ll probably just end up at bingo and getting a takeaway! Rock & roll! Just knowing we don’t have to get up early in the morning  (or in the middle of the night) though will be fabulous so thanks very much Pat & Arthur, we really need this! Then on Sunday we’re going out with my best friend Louise, her husband Dave & their gorgeous 5 month old daughter Olivia. We’ll probably go to a Wacky Warehouse somewhere so Sam can burn some energy off and then have a lovely lunch together. Craig hasn’t met Olivia yet so he’s excited as is Sam. We have a picture of Olivia on our fridge and Sam keeps asking when we can see ‘Baby Liv-ya & Woo-weese’. He loves babies. His favourite day of the week is Friday when he gets to spend the morning with his cousin Jack (Baby Yak). According to Sam he helps his Nanna (who looks after them both) by taking Jack’s dummy away because ‘he don’t need it’. I’m sure she’s thrilled 🙂
  2. My parents are finally home from visiting my sister in Australia on Monday. They’ve been gone just over 3 weeks but it feels like months! I’m very close to them & it has been hard not speaking to them and seeing them every week. Sam & I stay over every Friday and although it’s been nice not to have to rush home from work, pack a couple of bags then head back into rush hour traffic to drive 15 miles to their house, I’d much rather do that than not see them. We’re hoping to pop round after work on Monday if their jet lag isn’t too bad so Sam can get cuddles from his ‘Mum-ma & Dad-dad’. He’s missed them too! I’m dying to see all their pictures. I’ve only seen my sister once on Skype whilst she’s been pregnant, on Christmas Day so I can’t wait to see how big her bump is. She & her husband also moved into their new house in November (which they had built) so I can’t wait to see pictures of that too! Can you believe that a sister of mine isn’t utilising social networking fully and putting her pictures on facebook? We cannot be related.
  3. I’m quitting smoking. I went to the smoking cessation clinic on Wednesday and start on Champix on Monday. I carry on smoking for 7-14 days after I start the tablets but after that I shouldn’t want it anymore. I’m really looking for to not stinking, not being stuck outside in the cold all the time, saving up to £30 a week and not being horribly addicted to something I don’t like anymore. I am nervous as hell though and no doubt will be turning to facebook & twitter for support! I only know a couple of people who have used Champix to quit so if anyone else has I’d love to hear about your experiences.

For more reasons to be cheerful have a look at Mich’s blog. On a horrible cold, windy day like this we all need to be cheered up!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2011 1:16 pm

    Good luck with the not smoking, sounds like you really want to quit! And enjoy the peaceful night, my MIL had CJ last fri overnight, so we could go out (together)for my birthday and not worry about getting up early. Bliss! Even if you end up at bingo!

  2. February 4, 2011 11:32 pm

    I love Bingo!
    Enjoy your weekend, sounds like you have a lot of great things happening in the next couple of days.
    Well done on the quit smoking too! You are doing great.
    I am now going to find you on Twitter ville!
    Becky:))@littleribbonroo

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      February 7, 2011 11:17 am

      Hello! Lovely to ‘meet’ you! Thanks for your kind comments. Have followed back! 🙂

Leave a Reply

