Skip to content

Reasons to be cheerful, 1, 2, 3

February 18, 2011

I’ve decided to have a bit of a revamp of my image. I’m not entirely comfortable being myself at the moment. Some of the weight I lost has crept back on and I’m about to quit smoking on Monday – the medication I’m taking can cause weight gain. I just feel rather disgusting and I’m struggling to look in the mirror at myself if I’m being honest. I read Josie’s blog the other day, a really interesting post about body image & beauty and I realised I need to change how I perceive myself (and also stop worrying about what others think of me and how I’m letting people down by putting the weight again but that’s whole other post!). I’m driving myself round the bend at how fat and ugly I am and it’s not doing me any good.  I need to learn to love myself and the first thing on the journey to doing that is to learn to love the way I dress.

My friend Emma unwittingly helped me with this last year when she said she doesn’t wear jeans because actually they don’t suit her. She looks better in dresses, skirts and tunics with leggings so that’s what she wears. How had I never thought about that? It’s not that I’m too fat for all the fashion (well maybe some of it is) but I don’t really suit it! I have a big bum and extremely generous child-bearing hips. My boobs are a decent ish size (36D) and my waist is comparatively small. So, why subject myself to jeans that bag on the waist, squeeze me on the hips and are baggy on my (surprisingly) skinny legs? REVELATION!

So, I’m going 50’s. Well, my interpretation of 1950’s anyway. Dresses, flirty skirts, peep toes and platforms. Any advice on what to wear would be fabulous!

So, my reasons to be cheerful are spreading a little bit of blog and shop love today. These ladies have really inspired me to think more about myself and how to make myself feel better about my image.

1. Big Girls Browse: I love Gemma’s blog. She has made me think more about wearing dresses as she usually posts a picture of herself in some fabulous dress on ‘Frocking Friday’. I may just join in with this one. The clothes she picks and shows are always suited to the slightly bigger lady (she’s only a 14 herself but many of the clothes go up to size 22/24) so it’s big draw for me. I’m sick of being told to wear skinny jeans, I look a bugger in them. Quite the upside down triangle with a big bum and small feet. Gemma has introduced me to a number of shops I wasn’t aware of where I can buy things that are purse and big bum friendly. I’m really looking forward to using Big Girls Browse to change my image & make myself happier!

2. Lottie Loves: This very lovely lady has recently upped sticks and moved to California, lucky thing, but she’s still blogging about her love of being feminine and all things vintage.   Every week she posts about ‘Finishing School, A-Z’. Last week it was M for moisturise – something I’m terrible about doing. My skin is generally ok but I’m finding as I’ve hit my 30s that the fine lines on my face are starting and I’m getting quite dry, scaly patches. I’ve taken on Lottie’s challenge to moisturise daily (I know for most people it’s routine but it is a real challenge to me!) in the hope that my skin will improve and so will my mood and self confidence!

3. Get Cutie: I was tweeting about some new dresses I had bought from Dotty P’s the other day when I got into a conversation with the fabulous @atmccollam from Miss Cherry Red who was looking for some nice day dresses. She was introduced to @getcutiedresses by @loveitloveit and I am now officially in love. And possible about to be bankrupt. These dresses are not cheap but my god are they stunningly beautiful. You can choose your own style (I want a short cap sleeve to begin with) AND your own fabric! Genius!

Tweety chocolate fabric

Long cap sleeve in Clarice Cliff orange

Short cap sleeve in Russian Doll black

I’m saving for dresses in tweety chocolate, Clarice Cliff orange, butterflies white and russian dolls. I don’t think my bank balance will like it! They are aren’t cheap – the short cap sleeve dress is £105 but these are truly gorgeous dresses that I haven’t seen anywhere else. They’d be perfect for a special occasion, for example a 31st birthday in around 9 weeks 😉 Just saving up for one of these dresses is putting a smile on my face!

So, there we go, spreading the love and make myself happier. After feeling so down at the start of the week these 3 ladies have, without ever meeting or speaking to me, given me a new sense of purpose and more than a little bit of excitement. I feel like I might just find out who I’m supposed to be and what I’m supposed to look like. Now that people, is a reason to be cheerful!

For others reasons pop over to Mummy from the Heart.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2011 4:20 pm

    I think those dresses are gorgeous! Do you sew? Could you learn? Would you have time? Yes, yes, yes – wear what suits you and what you like to wear. Then you will feel and look happy. It is your facial expression people look at most!!!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      February 22, 2011 2:04 pm

      Funny you should ask about sewing – I don’t but when I was a teenager my mum made a lot of clothes for me. I’ve asked her if she can make me dresses now she’s retired and she said yes!! We’ve just got to find some cool patterns and fabric! She’s digging out her mannequin this week and setting it on wide load ready for my exact measurements 😉

  2. February 18, 2011 6:46 pm

    I want a Get Cutie dress too!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      February 22, 2011 2:03 pm

      Aren’t they to die for?! I neeeed one!

  3. February 18, 2011 9:49 pm

    I love your blog post . A true reflection of what many many women feel . Go for it , a sense of personal style is tops in my book . Skinny jeans yawn yawn yawn .
    Remember us guys manufacture all our clothes in the UK sweatshop free a, aiming for being part of a future heritage Made in Great Britain , we can only try !!

    All the best Fiona x

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      February 22, 2011 2:02 pm

      My husband says he’ll buy me the Russian doll dress for my birthday. I am very excited!

  4. February 18, 2011 11:42 pm

    Great post and clothes shopping never fails to make me cheerful. I went out today, without babies for the first time in 7 months!, and bought two lovely outfits for the weekend. i cannot wait to wear them. I have bought a skirt!!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      February 22, 2011 1:57 pm

      You must have been thrilled! And a little bit lost going out without the twins! It’s such a treat isn’t it! Enjoy your new clothes 🙂

  5. February 18, 2011 11:52 pm

    I never follow the fashions. I am a size 16 – 18 and very rarely wear jeans and I have never and will never wear skinny ones. Even f I was a size 8, I am still short with large knee caps and I can’t change that. I suit a more bohemian floaty dress look and I think it suits my personality too.

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      February 22, 2011 1:52 pm

      I’m the same size so know how you feel. I’m not sure what look reflects my personality yet, I’m still trying to find out!

  6. February 19, 2011 10:25 am

    I love 50’s fashion, if only I had the right shape to wear it. So glad to hear that you are going to try and celebrate your shape. Places like Debenhams do free styling sessions, to help you know what to wear, might be worth an idea. Mich x

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      February 22, 2011 1:46 pm

      I didn’t know they did free sessions. There’s one right near me, I think I’ll pop in. Thank you!

  7. Naomi permalink
    February 20, 2011 2:06 pm

    I hope tihs does not sounds too strange but you can get lots of 50’s on high street at the moment. Hennes has lots. I bought several dresses their last week and all cheaply priced. Yes its the knowing what to wear fro your figure. I am a tunic/dress/jeans person and cannot do leggings!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      February 22, 2011 1:43 pm

      Leggings I’m not so bad with, as long as the tunic is quite long!!
      Thanks for the tip, I’ll have a nosy at Hennes this weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

