Skip to content

Not at all Wordless Wednesday – Meningitis

February 23, 2011

A woman I know had the most horrendous weekend after her 16 month old granddaughter was diagnosed with meningitis. After a few days in intensive care and a shit load of antibiotics she is going to be ok and they don’t expect any lasting damage but it was touch and go for quite a while. If her mum had taken her into hospital just a few hours later she may not have made it.

It’s not quite over for the family as this lady’s son in law is now in hospital having tests as he may also have meningitis.

It’s just horrible and it really brings home how quick this disease can progress. If you don’t know what to look out for here is a quick guide for which I have taken from the NHS Direct website. You can also find more information from the Meningitis Trust. They’ve even introduced a free iPhone application that you can download here which includes all the info below. Remember – there isn’t always a rash.

Sorry I’m a bit miserable today, it’s really upset me. I’m printing these out for my fridge. And my mum’s fridge. And my mother in law’s fridge. Just so we all know what to look out for. I’m going to give Sam a really big hug when I get home tonight, think about that poor family and thank all that is holy that I haven’t had to go through anything like this.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2011 1:34 pm

    I’m printing out copies right now, you might be feeling down but this might help somebody one day.

  2. February 23, 2011 2:01 pm

    It’s really handy stuff to know. I wrote a similar post not too long ago about it.

    Well done for writing this post, my thoughts are with your friend’s family – thank goodness they got her to the hospital in time xx

  3. seasiderinthecity permalink
    February 23, 2011 2:25 pm

    Such an important topic – child at my son’s nursery got this a few weeks ago – not quite so lucky but is on the mend.

    Best wishes to your friends x

  4. February 23, 2011 9:56 pm

    Really good post. A friend of mine lost her daughter to this horrible disease in 2009. She was only 2. It has made me really paranoid about it. We need to be reminded to be aware all the time I think.

Leave a Reply

