Skip to content

Money, money, money

February 25, 2011

As you know I’m off to Australia in 15 weeks to see my sister and meet my new niece or nephew. I can’t wait! She’s 31 weeks pregnant now and we’re dying to find out what the sex is, but she’s managed to resist so far. I’m already buying gorgeous neutral baby grows for sending out there before Frickle arrives. Her due date is around 6 weeks before I fly out so I’ll have plenty of time too then to shop for little blue or pink outfits! Yay!

One thing has been worrying about going to Australia – money. I’ve still not paid my parents for the flight, haven’t saved up any spending money and don’t have a huge amount of cash to be able to spoil Helen and the new baby as much as I’d like. I’m also worried about going on my own. Last time we were in Aussie my parents were with us and able to bail us out when we discovered that it’s actually ridiculously expensive there. For example: The Silver Cross Surf pram which my sister wants is £400 here, it’s £800 down under. Wowzer!

Also, I’ll be flying on my own. What if someone steals all my money whilst I’m asleep? What if I need a drink in Singapore but only have dollars? What if I get to Heathrow, need a decent magazine and have no pounds? What happens if I RUN OUT OF MONEY? I know I can’t use my debit card out there – the charges are just stupid. So I’ve taken advice and I’m going to apply for a 0% interest credit card. I can use it anywhere in the world and it will be the best back up if I do get mugged of all my money on the plane. Which I might as I refuse to wear a bum bag or stuff cash down my bra!

So, plan of attack: save like mad for 18 weeks, pay off parents, take spending money. Any problems, run out of money, see gifts that are just TOO cute to resist – use credit card. Get home, pay off asap (not a huge issues as 0% for a few months). 

Ok, one problem gone. Now I just need to worry about how I’m going to cope without my son, husband and iPhone. Not necessarily in that order 😉

(This is a sponsored post)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2011 9:42 am

    You can’t take your iPhone?! That’s awful!

    I can’t wait to see photos of Helen’s new arrival – you’ll be a fab auntie (and the bonus is that you won’t have to babysit!). Skype is brilliant for keeping in touch, you’ll hardly notice they’re a zillion miles away 🙂

    V jealous of your trip – more because you’ll be getting time to yourself!!

    Xxx

  2. March 27, 2011 8:17 am

    Go have a great time, nad at least you can say you made the effort,to travel half way round the world to see her, sounds to me like its the break that you need

Leave a Reply

