Skip to content

Reasons to be cheerful, 1, 2, 3

March 4, 2011

I am not cheerful right now. In fact I was going to do a Reasons not be cheerful post but then I didn’t want to seem like I am a miserable cow even if I am. And I really am. I quit smoking this week. I miss it. But apparently it’s a good thing – whatever!! Only non smokers say that. Even with the aid of Champix I am that horrible person in the corner with the scowl that can scare children and nothing will be cheer me up. I’m going to try though.

1. I quit smoking. I am meant to be cheerful about this. Less risk of heart disease, cancer, high blood pressure yadda yadda yadda. Whatevs. I just want a cig but I put it on facebook, twitter & here that I was quitting so I can’t not now otherwise I look stupid. And I am way to stubborn to look stupid. So yes, no more cigs. I am dreading this weekend – no vino! It’s best not to drink whilst I’m getting my head around not smoking. All my little pleasures in life – gone… I’m sure I’ll be happy about quitting in 50 years time when I’m still here to watch my grandchildren walk down the aisle so this is to be considered a reason to be cheerful in 50 years.

2. I bought 4 lovely dresses. Yes, 4. If I can’t spend my money on cigs I will damn well spend it on something else I like. Although I think Craig wishes I was still smoking – it’d be cheaper. They’re not 50’s but at least they’re dresses -one step closer to being elegant, pretty and well dressed. Kinda.

Dress 1 – hides lumps & bumps!

Dress 2 – cute for summer!

Dress 3 – floaty sleeves! I have this in another print & it’s so flattering.

Dress 4 – For summer days at work

3. I’m having lunch with the girlies tomorrow! My lovely, lovely friends from school and I are off to Pesto at the Trafford Centre. I’ll be driving so no drinkies for me but a lorra lorra food instead. Nom nom nom. I’ll be starting the Atkins diet on Monday so if you spot a strange, slightly angry, ginger woman wrestling bread off people & shoving as much into her mouth as she can fit, that’ll be me.  (I’ve just realised how much we all like red hair dye! Purely accidental & definitely not planned! We all just have excellent taste).

Ok, I am a bit more cheerful now! Pop on over here to see other less miserable people than me being much more cheerful.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2011 2:54 pm

    Love this post – all that pent-up explosive anger!
    Hope the giving up cigarettes gets easier as you know it makes sense.
    Hair dye features in my reasons over at http://gigglingatitall.blogspot.com and I love red hair and would like to go very extreme.
    Do I spot a fellow Fifties lover? Glad you had a spending spree and why not?
    Have a fab time with your friends and tell us all about it next week

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      March 10, 2011 12:09 am

      I am a 50s lover but do struggle to match things to my life & figure!
      Go for the red hair! You can always dye it back again. I have never regretted going bright red, bright pink or even blue. It reflected me at the time & could quite easily be changed. I double dares you 😉

  2. March 4, 2011 4:18 pm

    The stopping smoking will eventually be a great reason to be cheerful. Stick with it!!

    CJ xx

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      March 10, 2011 12:04 am

      I’m feeling much better already. It’s definitely a case of one day at a time. I will be so glad I’ve done this soon, just got to plod on!

  3. March 5, 2011 6:27 am

    I LOVE dress number 2! Have just ordered it for myself! Roll on the sunny days to wear it now x

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      March 10, 2011 12:03 am

      Oh yay! It’s my favourite out of the bunch I have to say 🙂

  4. March 5, 2011 1:14 pm

    Hurrah for you packing in the ciggies 🙂 That’s brilliant and definitely a reason to be cheerful.

    LOVING the dresses – all of them are gorgeous but I adore number 3…may have to buy that myself 🙂

    You’ll probably be having lunch with your friends as I’m typing this…hope you’re having a great time.

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      March 10, 2011 12:03 am

      I had a fabulous time thank you! Although I ate so much there’s a good possibilty I won’t be able to fit in those dresses now!!

Leave a Reply

