Skip to content

Out of Office

March 8, 2011

I’m not around much this week. During work hours I’m in a Health & Safety course wondering why on earth I’m listening to a rude little man saying things like ‘I’m not racist but it’s them foreigners who have all the accidents’ and ‘After the building site scenario we’ll have one for you lovely ladies – a hairdressers!’. During my lunch hour I’m spending time with people who I don’t know and who are poles apart from the people I want to know (I’m only with them for a free lunch, if I was my usually miserable, loner self I’d have to buy my lunch to sit in the car with & I’m skint). During the evening I’m trying not to smoke & wondering how I became one of THEM. You know, THEM? The people who sit in courses, interact with the arsehole lecturer and add relevant points? He was talking about Leptospirosis , a disease from rat wee. Not one I come across very often in our office & gym work environment but I knew what he was talking about, because I’d read an article.  Have you any idea how sad that makes me?

I don’t want to be that sad, pathetic H&S person though so I’ve found a new phrase to add to my new ‘down wiv da kids’ vocab. Well jell. Oh yes, well jell. As in ‘I know you’re all well jell about my awesome H&S course. ‘

I am so cool it actually hurts.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2011 8:47 am

    Foreigners,women…maybe it’ll be sexual orientation today. Play buzzword bingo with it. I find it always makes it easier to tolerate, well at least not rip throats out anyway!! I thought the rats wee thing was weils disease. We have problems with having to be careful about that around here. Have a wonderful h&s week. Do you get a burning bin demonstration?! Maybe you should test them!!!!!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      March 10, 2011 12:02 am

      It’s another name for Weil’s Disease. No, no burning bin this week – just lots of risk assessment and inappropiate comments by the looks of it! How this guy is still teaching I have no idea. I think it’s fairly obvious he’s coming up for retirement. If his HR dept could see him now he’d be done by Friday!

Leave a Reply

