Skip to content

Black pudding & Chorizo risotto

April 18, 2011

I love to cook. Well, actually I love to eat but to do that I must cook first. I’m not a great fan of chopping or preparing so many of my meals are quick and easy. This is one of my absolute favourites so I thought I’d share it with you!

Because there aren’t many ingredients in this you have to make sure what ingredients you have are good ones. I only ever use Bury black pudding (I may be biased as I live in Bury but I do think it’s the best) and chorizo from my Dad’s deli. I don’t know where he gets it from but it’s spicy and full of flavour – nothing like the patheticly anaemic ones you get in the supermarket. I normally use Asda’s Extra Special chicken stock but didn’t have any in so just used Oxo cubes. Not the best but they did the job 🙂 Oh, you should know that I don’t weigh anything. I just put in what I feel will be enough and hope for the best!

Before you do anything put the stock on to simmer – risotto works best if you have hot stock.

Black pudding and chorizo are both quite fatty. The fat is delicious though so instead of wasting it I use it to fry the onions in. So, first things first, I chop the black pudding and chorizo into approx 1cm slices. I fry them off for 2/3 minutes each side to render some of the fat out.

I then tip them into a bowl for using later. In the same I chuck in a handful or so of frozen chopped onions (sorry but weeknights are too short to spend hours chopping) and 3/4 cloves of garlic (because we love garlic. Normal people may want to use 1). Fry these until transluscent then chuck in enough rice for however many people ou are cooking for. I tend to go off 2 small handfuls per person because I like leftovers or seconds 😉 Stir the rice so it gets coated in the oil then start chucking in the stock a ladle full at a time. I don’t have a ladle though so I use a little cup. Just so you know. I really need to buy a ladle.

Every recipe says you should stand there stirring and adding stock. I admit that I don’t leave it completely – I don’t bugger off and watch TV for half an hour but neither do I stay at the stove. I give it a little stir, add some stock when it’s soaked up the last lot and potter around the kitchen doing the washing up, put some laundry on etc.

After about 20 minutes the risotto rice should be pretty much cooked and have absorbed a whole load of stock (I use 2 stock cubes or one tub of fresh stock then just plain water so it isn’t too overpowering). Add the already cooked black pudding and chorizo. Give them a couple of minutes to warm through and eat a bit of rice to check it’s cooked. If it is, throw in a handful of parmesan cheese (I am yet to find anything that isn’t improved by adding cheese) and stir.

Serve immediately with a hunk of garlic bread and more cheese on top. And a diet coke, of course. Om nom nom.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2011 8:39 am

    mmm this sounds yummy x

  2. April 18, 2011 10:40 am

    So what day shall I come for tea? 

Leave a Reply

