Skip to content

Listography – Products you couldn’t live without

May 17, 2011

I’m a newcomer to Kate Takes 5 but I likes what I see and I sees what I likes so I’m staying. And it seems, joining in.

This week’s Listography is 5 products you couldn’t live without. Hmm….there are an awful lot more than 5 as you can imagine but I think these are the vitalist of the vital.

1. Diet coke. There is no way I could live without this. A 3 can a day habit may be dissolving my teeth but it’s also my only source of caffeine, a comforter, a heavenly way to dilute vodka and definitely a substitute for over eating and smoking.

2. Mascara. I was trying to decide what one product in my excessively large make up bag would I choose & surprisingly this won. My gut feeling went with foundation but when I think what I look like without foundation (not great but tolerable) and without mascara (mole) it was apparent. I could use the mascara to open up my teeny tiny eyes and help define my eyebrows which would hopefully draw the attention away from my uneven skin tone and wockachonga spots (seriously I’m 31, when will they go away?)

3. My iPhone. Take away my TV, my music, my books, my laptop. I don’t care. Just leave me with my iPhone. My husband will say this should be number 1 but actually it isn’t quite as important as he thinks. I do really, really love it though and could never not have one now.

4. Baby wipes. For taking off my make up, wiping sticky hands and faces, cleaning surfaces, mopping up spills, removing hair dye, wiping down dashboards, cleaning fruit and sometimes, just sometimes cleaning small children’s bottoms. I carry these even when I’m not with Sam.

5. Skype. This isn’t something I’ve used loads. We do use it on occasion to speak to/see my sister but going forward I have a feeling we’ll be using it more and more. Now I have a new baby nephew it’s going to be the only way I get to see him on a regular basis and the only real way Sam and Riley get to know each other. We have Skyped since Riley was born and it was wonderful to see his little feet (exactly like mine, Helen & Sam’s!!) and meet him properly.

Check out that gap between his big toe & the rest - those are Bailey feet all right!

There are so many more products which nearly made the top 5 – my Virgin+ box, razors, pasta, toast to name but a few. In fact, it was so hard to narrow down it’s taken me 2 days to write this!

For others joining in with Kate’s Listography click here.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2011 4:11 pm

    I love that you took this so seriously and even road tested your make-up looks! Brilliant! Thanks for joining in – do call again 🙂

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      May 17, 2011 9:11 pm

      I will be doing 🙂
      Make up is very important to me & I had to be completely sure I was choosing the right one!!

  2. May 17, 2011 4:46 pm

    There are some big & little needs in this list! I’d have to have mascara too! Great to meet via Kate’s!

Leave a Reply

