Skip to content

Mums on the go

May 26, 2011

I received a press release last week about Mums on the Go. The mobile provider Three did some research and found that 

  • Half (48 per cent) of mums go online late at night to catch up on things they don’t have the time to during the day
  •  82 per cent of mums have less than an hour of ‘me time’ a day
  • A third of mums (33 per cent) get less than six hours sleep a night 
  • Mums can save 135 hours a year by having access to the internet while out and about

This is me – this is actually me. Life before Sam included pootling home from work around 5ish, having a chat (and maybe a cheeky drink at the pub) with Craig, making a nice tea and watching TV before sloping off to bed at 10pm every night. I’d read for 20-30 minutes then turn the lights out. I refused to have electronic devices in the bedroom because it was for sleeping and sleeping alone. I’d be up at 6.45am having had a good 8 hours sleep and would be fully functioning most of the time.

Now I race home (with a kind of aggressive road rage only commuting parents have) to relieve Craig from babysitting duties, try to have quality time with Sam whilst catching up with my emails through my iPhone, cook a quick tea (usually pasta) whilst Craig baths Sam, do the whole bottle, book, bed routine (how long does Green Eggs and Ham last when you’re in a rush?), back downstairs to wash up, tidy up, put some washing on, sort out mine & Sam’s clothes for the next day, pack his bag (when I remember), do the ironing (if the pile is threatening to topple over and kill the dog), sit down with Craig to have a chat, whilst doing some knitting or commenting on blogs, wave him off at 9.15pm (he works nights) then go online properly to write a blog post, upload some pics/videos of Sam for my sister before I realise how bloody late it is, take my make up off with a baby wipe (no time for proper cleansing) whilst reading Google Reader, get in bed around 11.30pm, read more blogs on my phone whilst listening to my Slimpod then fall asleep. Only to be woken an hour later by Jimmy Nail blaring out because I forgot to turn off my iPod. Then it starts all over again when my alarm goes off at 5.30am.

I am exhausted. And I’m not the only one. What helps me get though the day though is that I do have mobile internet and I save time in the evening by checking my email throughout the day (my personal and blog email accounts get around 100 emails a day between them so I do have to stay on top of it). When I’m at work I even go so far as to take my phone to the toilet so I can reply to emails and read a blog post while having a wee! Hey, it’s one less to read at the end of the day! Anything that requires more attention is marked as unread and that is what I deal with when I go on my laptop at the end of the day.

Three (who are in fact my mobile provider) with Denise van Outen and the NCT are working together to show mums the benefit of smartphones and mobile internet. Research showed that mums can save a massive 135 hours (I’m pretty sure it’s more for me!) by having mobile internet and going online whenever/wherever convenient.

If you have a look at their YouTube page there’s some hints & tips for apps to help us mums be more efficient. Denise van Outen, mum to 1 year old Betsy says

 “I love the internet and often tweet or go online late at night when I get some down time.  Becoming smartphone savvy has been a great eye opener and I’ve enjoyed making dead time, such as standing in shopping queues and waiting for friends, more productive. With the help of some amazing apps I now have instant access to my email, bank accounts, news and travel updates at my fingertips.”

 Sylvia Chind from Three explained: “Our research shows that Mums are particularly stretched for time and are really optimistic about how mobile internet could help them claim some of this back. We want to share hints, tips and tricks on what mums can do with mobile internet to help their lives run more smoothly.

 “We want to reach out to as many mums as we can.  Our aim is to give mums confidence and peace of mind when it comes to using mobile internet and smartphones,, which is why we offer truly unlimited data on both pay as you go and contract plans.”

 Three is also launching a nationwide competition to find the UK’s Busiest Mum.  There is the chance to win an all-expenses-paid family holiday to the Caribbean for one deserving mum and her family. There are also BlackBerry smartphones available to win. To enter visit Three’s Facebook page at www.facebook.com/ThreeUK.

This is not a sponsored post – time management, being stupidly busy and how lost I’d be without my iPhone has been on my mind for weeks now. This press release really resonated with me so I thought I’d share.

Do you agree with this? Are we all so run off our feet we have no time to ourselves? Does life feel like a hamster wheel to anyone else?! Do you have any tips and how to save time?

I was lucky enough to win a book by Nadine Hill (@businessmum) a couple of weeks ago. Ironically it took me a while to find time to read. I think I’ve picked up a few tips now and I’m looking forward to being far more organised going forward! (review here)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2011 6:26 am

    I have thought the same thing… what I could be doing when bub is asleep in the car, pram etc.

    I have a birthday coming up and I have my fingers crossed!

  2. May 27, 2011 3:07 pm

    Hi Emma
    I hear you about the aggressive road rage thing! When you are trying to get to your child before school kicks them out and there are dawdlers on the road in front of you!!

    I really enjoyed your post and Three are spot on that mums are online late at night after all their ‘mum’ duties get finished. I often get a second burst of energy after the kids are in bed!

    Thanks for the review of my book and for speaking of it so highly. I’m so glad that the book has helped you to find pockets of time that you can use more productively to get some more of that elusive ‘me time’ for yourself and your family.

    Best, Nadine

  3. May 29, 2011 11:32 pm

    I could not live without my smartphone and like you find the time after my son has gone to bed to be the most productive. Sat in front of the TV at about 10 I am often found laptop on lap (burning the fat from my thighs!) a book/ notebook to the left and smartphone to the right!

    We are multi tasking genii!

Leave a Reply

