Skip to content

The Gallery – I’m grateful for…

June 1, 2011

You know I wasn’t going to bother entering the Gallery today. I didn’t have the time to wade through photos capturing exactly what I was grateful for – there’s so much. However yesterday this happened:

It’s not the best picture in the world (I have no idea who that woman with brown hair is) but this reflects right now what I am grateful for. Sam and I picked my parents up from the airport yesterday. They have been in Australia visiting my sister and (not so) new baby Riley (and yes Grumpyish Mum, she so should set up a blog called The Life of Riley – I’m getting on the case when I get there πŸ™‚ ). My Mum’s been there a month and my Dad 2 weeks.Β  We’ve really missed them. My Mum was a bit worried Sam wouldn’t go to her after being away do long – normally she is his favourite person. We needn’t have worried. He took off at high speed screaming ‘Mum-ma’ and got a big hug. He ran straight to my Dad (Dad-dad) after then he climbed onto a bench and they all jumped up and down with glee at being back together.

A happy little reunion.

After we’d dropped them off at their house and were driving off Sam said to me ‘I wike Mum-ma and Dad-dad’. Yes me too baby. ‘No mummy, I WUV Mum-ma and Dad-dad.’

I’m grateful for my parents who are the light of Sam’s life. Who help us out when we need it – whether with babysitting, or lending me Β£800 so I can visit Helen & Riley next week, who give me sage advice on my career, who make me laugh, make me nice teas on a Friday and listen to my woes even now I’m 31 and should really sort myself out. I’m grateful that they put me through private school and a university education. I’m grateful that they didn’t go too mad when I decided not to use it and instead hotfoot it off to China. I’m grateful that they didn’t say ‘I told you so’ when I came back early with my tail between my legs after the university I taught at ended up being shit.

I’m very grateful they’re back in the country πŸ™‚

For more entries check out Tara’s blog. I have a feeling some of these will be weepies!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2011 8:30 am

    aw i wuv them too πŸ™‚

  2. Grumpyishmum permalink
    June 1, 2011 8:45 am

    That’s lovely. The photo is brill, and yes, my suggestion is totes amazeballs πŸ˜‰

  3. June 1, 2011 12:33 pm

    Thats so lovely! What would we do without our mums and dads…..
    Nat

  4. June 1, 2011 2:26 pm

    Yay! Great post. Punching the air for you. Hope you have a great time together

  5. June 1, 2011 3:20 pm

    Oh how lovely, it gave me such a warm lovely glow reading that and a tear to both eyes. I am beyond grateful for my wonderful parents who are the light of The Boy’s life. I completely empathise with everything you’ve said.

  6. June 1, 2011 5:36 pm

    It’s all about family and friends, isn’t it? Nothing else really matters. Love the utter joy in the pic!

  7. June 1, 2011 6:31 pm

    Lovely to have the story behind the photo.
    I live with my Dad and know having their grandfather around adds so much to my children’s life particularly since the loss of grandma

  8. June 1, 2011 7:46 pm

    That is a lovely, joyous picture, and a brilliant story too. Like theboyandme, I have a warm glow too

  9. June 2, 2011 11:54 am

    It’s a lovely story and picture (hey, better than most of my crappy efforts with my dodfy phone camera!). Those of us who have supportive, loving, non-judgemental parents who never say “I told you so”, well we’re really lucky.

    Your post has made me think and appreciate when perhaps I need it most. I’ve felt a bit of irritation at my Mum ringing everyday lately (I hope she doesn’t see this) yet she’s always there when I need her. Your lovely post has done more than give me a warm feeling, it’s actually given this grouch a bit of a wakeup call!!! πŸ™‚ xXx

  10. June 4, 2011 1:58 pm

    what a lovely picture! a true capture the moment and feelign shot – beautiful πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

