Skip to content

The New You Plan: Week 1 – Starting Stats.

July 4, 2011

I’m fat. Very fat. My arse blocks the sunlight and my bingo wings are albatross like. I dread warm summer days because I know I’ll be stuck in leggings or jeans as my pretty dresses I was wearing last year no longer fit.

You may remember a few months ago I blogged that I was quitting smoking. I haven’t updated on that – didn’t want to jinx it! – but I did it! I haven’t had a cig in over four months now! Of course I still have days where I would gladly rip of my arm and beat someone to death for a cig but generally I console myself with chocolate or cheese. As I have said before, there’s nothing in life that can’t be improved with cheese. Funnily enough whilst my smoking habit has left me I seem to have  acquired an extra couple of stone on my backside. And tummy. And face. And legs. And boobs (I don’t mind that one).

I need to do something and I need to do it quick. I was inspired by Tiffany who has lost a whole load of weight doing Total Food Replacement (TFR). A couple of years ago I lost quite a lot of weight by doing a version of this kind of diet – Very Low Calorie Diet (VLCD). It’s tough, a little bit brutal to begin with but the results are bloody incredible! Reminding myself of how good I was feeling last summer I very cheekily contacted  the lovely Julie-Ann at The New You Plan to see if they would like to help me get yummy again. Despite being just 3 weeks from giving birth (by the way congratulations – Isabella is gorgeous 🙂 ) Julie-Ann considered my proposal and accepted! To say I was thrilled was an understatement. We decided that I would wait until I was back from Australia to start and this weekend I took delivery of my first 50 products. This should last me over 2 weeks due to the plan I’m following. I’ve decided not to do TFR, I know myself well enough to know that this isn’t sustainable for me. Instead I am doing the VLCD consisting of 3 products (porridge, shake, bar or soup) and one low calorie, very low carb evening meal. Today I have had a strawberry shake (not bad), a lemon yoghurt bar (yummy), a chocolate shake (actually  delicious!) and a small chicken breast with peas in soy sauce, rice vinegar and Chinese 5 spice. Yum! I don’t feel deprived but day 1 of a VLCD is ok. Day 2/3/4 however will be a struggle. My body will go into ketosis within a couple of days though and then the hunger will go, my energy will return and my body will be burning fat at a rate of 2-3 pounds per week. Woo hoo!

So here we are – day 1. I don’t know what I’m more nervous about – doing the diet or revealing my weight! It’s got to be done though. Every week (usually Monday unless something happens) I’ll be posting a picture of me in the same outfit (so you can see if I’m losing) and my weight. Oh. Em. Gee. My weight. On t’interweb. I feel sick.

I can’t back out now though! So here we are. This morning (you have to remember that I have quit smoking and just come back from a cake-a-thon holiday with my sister and trying a whole new Australian range of McDonalds products) my weight was (I can’t believe I’m doing this, deep breath…) 15 stone 12 pounds. Yeah, that’s not good. Don’t judge me! Or mention this to me if you know me in ‘real life’.

I’ve also measured my vital statistics but my child bearing hips measurement gave me such a bloody scare that I really can’t publish that just yet. Give me a few weeks to lose a couple of inches & I’ll let you know. In the meantime have a guess at just how big they are based on these photos. In fact, don’t – it may depress me too much!

Ridiculous pose but you need to see them hips.

 

Close up of them hips! 14 inches wider than my boobs. I am such a pear...

  

Well, would you be happy if you looked like that?

 
 

Oh boy.

 
Big fat arms. But also gratuitous shot of Riley to cheer me up 🙂

 

 

Now that horror is over – the goal. I’m never going to be a skinny minnie. I’m big hipped, big boned and learnt the hard way that I don’t look good thin. I’m aiming to lose a round 70lbs or 5 stone to take me to a healthy 10 stone 12. My BMI will have gone from 35 to 23 which is well within the healthy range of 18-25. I’ll reassess when I get there but I doubt I’ll need to lose more than that! I think 5 stone is enough to cope with for now.

So. That’s it. Here we go! Do follow The New You Plan on Facebook & twitter and take a look at their website. Their inspirational quotes and encouragement will get me through the next few months. I can’t thank them enough for this opportunity. I am super excited to let you know how their products work and show you my progress.

Wish me luck!!!

Week

Weight

Amount lost

Amount to go

BMI

1

15.12

0

70

34.8

 

 

 

 

 

 
Disclosure: The New You Plan have sent me their products free of charge however all opinions are my own and I am not being paid to write about them.  
2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2011 5:09 am

    You are a brave woman and you can do it! I love your green dress!!

Trackbacks

  1. When Skinny People Complain About Being Fat… | Moving On Up a Little Higher

Leave a Reply

