Skip to content

The Gallery : World Photography Day

August 24, 2011

I wasn’t going to take part in today’s Gallery as it’s all to do with actually good photos probably taken by people with proper cameras who are interested in photography. That ain’t me. I’d love to be able to take good photos but that takes practice, and a camera, and time. None of which I have.

Then I remembered a photo I took in Blackpool a few months ago. I was trying to get an interesting picture of me because I was so bloody sick of my facebook profile pics & wanted something new (seriously, how vain is that!! Can’t believe I’ve admitted it). It turned out even better than I could have imagined.

I love that I don’t look pretty pretty like so many fb profile pics, I’m not looking at the camera, I’m not smiling, my hair is a mess & I remembered when I got home how much I hate those earrings. I love it that little bit more because who is captured in the background? Oh yes, my lovely husband and son.

It’s not the best technically but it’s my favourite. And it’s all subjective really isn’t it?!

 

Click here for more entries to The Gallery.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2011 2:02 pm

    Lovely photo, I always need to do my own as I’m always behind the camera and I’m never pleased with what I take, I always look so false

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      August 28, 2011 9:25 pm

      Yep, I always think that too. When I don’t look at the camera or mess about a bit I tend to look better! Go figure!

  2. August 24, 2011 5:45 pm

    I like the photo and I like even more that you like it too. I think it makes you look intriguing
    My try is over at http://gigglingatitall.blogspot.com

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      August 28, 2011 9:26 pm

      Thanks! Heading over to you place now πŸ™‚

  3. August 24, 2011 8:40 pm

    I love the effect you’ve used. Or is that just the camera – I’m a bit clueless lol

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      August 28, 2011 9:25 pm

      Lol! It’s the effect – I used Hipstamatic. The best photo app on the iPhone ever!

  4. August 25, 2011 8:40 am

    Great photo. I prefer non posed ones too. Love the figures in the background.

Leave a Reply

