Skip to content

5 things I want you to know about your father

September 12, 2011

I’m joining in with Notes From Home’s Friday Club Carnival (I’m late for everything me)  for the first time as I couldn’t resist this title.

Dear Sam,

Trying to pick just 5 things to tell you about your Daddy is hard because he’s pretty fantastic. He’s also an absolute pain in the backside, narky pants, whinge bag but don’t tell him I said that 😉 What you really need to know though is:

1. He adores you. He waited a long time to be a dad and was so thrilled to find out you were on your way. He came to every appointment before and after you were born and now has given up the luxury of sleep to look after you. You make him proud and drive him mad at the same time. You are without doubt the light of his life and he misses you when you stay with your grandparents for a night or two.

2.  He works bloody hard. Seriously, I hope you inherit his work ethic rather than mine. He throws himself into whatever he’s doing and does it well. When I was pregnant with you he worked for hours decorating most of the upstairs (with some help from Grandad Martin) so you would have a lovely house to come home to. At the moment he works a full time job and looks after you most of the time which is pretty impressive.

3. He is very generous. He will literally give you his last pound if he things you need it more than him. There was a man a few years ago who seemed to be homeless and hung near our house. Your daddy used to buy him miniature bottles of whisky in the winter and was gutted when one day he wasn’t there and never came back. He also bought me an iPad2 because he knew how much I wanted one. Rather than spending his money on himself he will treat both of us to make us happy. That’s pretty special.

4. He’s a bit silly. If we’re feeling a bit down he’ll do stupid things to cheer us up. He’ll jump around making faces at you or, like last night, will do the most ridiculous impression of Gary Barlow coming on to me just to make me laugh. Which I did. Copiously. And all day today too.

5. He has the worst taste in music ever. And I thought mine was bad. Oh. Em. Gee kid, you have no chance. He has you singing along to Westlife, Backstreet Boys, New Kids on the Block, Glee, Angry Anderson etc. If I wasn’t sleeping with him I’d swear to god he was gay.   As you grow up, ignore any bands your Daddy says are good, you will be bullied if you repeat them at school.

So, there you go. 5 things that right now, aged 3 you should know about your Daddy. Of course there’s only one thing you need ever know about Mummy – and that’s that I’m always right.

Friday Club

Click here for more (on time) entries to The Friday Club.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2011 4:33 pm

    He sounds like a keeper!

  2. September 12, 2011 9:30 pm

    Lovely post, thanks so much for writing it, I’ll add it to the carnival!

    He sounds like a really great guy BUT those are some dodgy bands you have listed there and I think you might be right in your advice about not repeating them to friends at school 🙂

  3. September 14, 2011 1:11 am

    I love this more than I can put in words. Thank you.

Trackbacks

  1. Things I Want My Children to Know: Five things I want you to know about your father — Notes from Home

Leave a Reply

